Valentine’s Day Playdate

header collage 2

Prepping for a family Valentine’s Day has really been bringing extra joy to my life!  So today I’m sharing a fun idea to spread the love to the kiddos.

Some people refer to Valentine’s Day as a “Hallmark Holiday”.  When I wasn’t married and didn’t have kids I always thought that Valentine’s Day has so much hype and pressure.  While it isn’t my favorite holiday, I still appreciate that we have one day of the year reminding everyone to tell their friends and loved ones how much they mean to them.  Everyone could use a reminder now and then.

To honor this special day, invite your friends and their kids over for a fun playdate that parents and kids alike will enjoy.  You’ll need to have a few crafts on hand the kids can do without too much assistance like large foam hearts the kids can decorate with stickers.  This way, everybody can have a Valentine to go home with.  Ask your friends to bring an appetizer to share that goes with the theme.  Here are a few snacks that worked for me!  And a few that my friends brought.

skewers

These are an adorable take on one of my fave snacks and salads.   I used the same recipe from this post, but I omitted the pork drippings.  The glaze works much better than just balsamic vinegar for this appetizer because it has a syrupy consistency that sticks to the skewers making it easier for people to pick up and go.

IMG_0625

Valentine’s Day Caprese Skewers with Balsamic Glaze

Ingredients

  • 1 fresh mozzarella ball
  • Balsamic Glaze
  • basil leaves
  • cherry tomatoes
  • toothpicks
  • small heart shaped cookie cutter

Slice your mozzarella pretty thick, about 1/4 and inch.  Next, use you heart shaped cookie cutter.  I was able to get 2-3 hearts from each slice.  Set those aside and start your balsamic glaze.  While that’s was working on the stove, cut the basil leaves in half and wash the tomatoes.  While your glaze is cooling, you can start putting these together.  I bought these adorable little jeweled tooth pics at Raley’s in the disposable plates section, but any toothpick or skewers.  Tomatoes first, then basil, and finally the cheese.  These can be made in advance and refrigerated.  Just don’t drizzle the glaze until you are ready to serve.

kabobs

These adorable skewers were the hit of the playdate!  I displayed them in a vase filled with conversation hearts.  This helped the skewers to stands up as well as offered a cheerful pop of color.  Tip: arrange your skewers in the vase before you load them up.

IMG_0618

Fruit and Donut Hole Kabobs

Ingredients

  • 1 box donut holes
  • strawberries
  • blue berries
  • long wooden skewers

Wash the berries thoroughly.  Remove all the leaves from strawberries.  Using a knife, cut a V shape to remove the remaining stem.  This V shape is what makes them look like hearts, so take your time with it.  Then cut them in half.  Now it’s time to assemble the skewers.  I did two blueberries, two donut holes, and one half of a strawberry.  I also did a few skewers of just fruit in case someone didn’t want the added sugar from the donut holes or there was an allergy.

cheese tray

The cheese plate.  This is def the way to my ♥!  I wanted to make sure I had something for adults and something for kids.  From 12 o’clock: aged gouda, vanilla macron almonds, heart shaped slices of colby jack and mild cheddar with wheat thins, rough chopped “good” salami, everything crackers, a stinky blue with an apricot compote made to accompany cheese.

DSC_6682

Of course no get together is complete (at our house anyway) with chips and homemade guacamole.  This little stinker ate his fair share before any of his playmates arrived.

DSC_6684

My guests brought some adorable and appropriately festive bites too!  This is an adorable veggie tray display.  Did you notice the red pepper slices are lips, the cucumbers are hearts, a few red peppers are hearts, and the carrots are XOX.  That just happens to be the lovely creators tag line.  LOVE it!

DSC_6686

The non-baker in me was super envious when I saw these pretty and extremely tasty heart shaped cookies arrive.  They were absolutely delicious!

Special thanks to my guests for playing along with my VDay musings.  You guys rock!

XOXO
A

Thoughts????

