5 Grain Stuffed Peppers

5 Grain Stuffed Peppers

I fell in love with all things culinary when I was little.  My Grandma would serve multiple courses at Thanksgiving, Christmas, and Easter, when I graduated from fruit cocktail to shrimp cocktail I felt pretty refined.  After working in restaurants, planning weddings, taking food and wine classes, and watching copious amounts of Food Network you could say I’m definitely a culinary enthusiast.  Each Thursday I will feature something related to my culinary passion. I hope you enjoy todays 5 Grain Stuffed Peppers recipe!

Since my husband wanted to add more veggies into his diet, I’ve been trying new recipes with things I know he would like that are loaded with veggies.  I looked through a ton of recipes for stuffed peppers (I love bell peppers!) and I just couldn’t find one that I really liked so I created my own recipe using the others as a guide.  If your kids aren’t into stuffed peppers just spoon out the filling for them (it will still have the delicious pepper flavor) and keep the cooked pepper to add to some sausages and onions for another meal.  Please know that all but one of my peppers was meatless.  I added some browned sausage to my husband’s pepper to beef up the protein.  Raley’s 5 Grains adds great nutritional value and an invited change to the typical rice.  The colorful peppers add flair to your typical weeknight meal.  You have to try my 5 Grain Stuffed Peppers.

5 Grain Stuffed PeppersAlso, I used Raley’s 5 Grains for this recipe.  It is a blend of spelt, barley, whole grain long rice, kamut and whole oat grain.  It only takes about 10 minutes to cook.  I like the different textures you get from the different grains.  You could use rice, quinoa, or just about any starch you like or have on hand.

5 Grain Stuffed Peppers

Meatless 5 Grain Stuffed Peppers

  • 4 bell peppers any color
  • 2 Tb chopped cilantro
  • 1/2 chopped onion
  • 1 15oz can black beans, rinsed
  • 1 4oz can chopped green chiles
  • 1/2 package Raley’s 5 Grains cooked per package instructions
  • 1/2 cup frozen corn
  • 1/2 cups shredded mild cheddar cheese, plus more to sprinkle on top
  • 1 beaten egg
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp oinion powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper
  • Optional: any browned ground or shredded protein or tofu would be great in this

Preheat your oven to 350° and grease a casserole dish (preferable with high sides).  Start by prepping your peppers, cut the very top portion off and remove any seeds or ribs you see inside.  I keep the lids and use them in other dishes or chop and add to a salad.  In a large bowl mix all the remaining ingredients except the egg.  In a separate small bowl beat the egg and add to the large bowl.  Mix this all together.  Spoon into the prepared peppers pushing down as you go.  If you have any mix left over, you can freeze it for later.  Top the stuffed peppers with a little cheese and cover.  Bake for 30 minutes, remove foil and cook for another 10 minutes.

This would be a great addition to my Meatless Monday post!

XOXO
A

 

2 thoughts on “5 Grain Stuffed Peppers

Thoughts????

