Happy Moments and Healthy Weeknight Recipes

My happy moments from last week and Easy Healthy Weeknight Recipes

Happy Moments and Healthy Weeknight Recipes

At times life can be messy, frustrating, and sad, but I want this blog to be a bright spot on the internet.  I choose to spread positivity because I enjoy looking back and seeing the funny, ridiculous, upbeat moments staring back at me from my various social media platforms.  Sure, I could put all the negative self talk that goes on in my brain out there for all to read, but highlighting that wouldn’t make anyone feel good.  Let alone me, I don’t want to dwell in negativity.  I’m a firm believer that what you put out into the world comes back to you.  And I want good vibes to come my way!

Over my holiday break I took time to think about my blog and where I want it to go.  I remembered the reason I started blogging in the first place: to spread love and positivity, to inspire and to be inspired by the creativity of other people, and to share this journey of motherhood by highlighting other moms.

This lead me to these changes and additions:

 

  • Reader submission topics: I love to hear your thoughts and learn from your experiences.  On occasion I’ll as for readers to email me about a specific topic.  I hope you’ll help!
  • Mom of the Month:  This will be instead of Five for Friday and will occur on a monthly basis.  I will also ask more than just the five questions.
  • MNOs: I plan to continue these dinners on the third Thursday of the month, but only every other month.  The details to this events will be announced here and on my Facebook page.
  • Momtourage Mixers: I’m so excited to announce this!  These mixers will be held the third Friday of the month from 6-8 during the months without an MNO.  This will be drinks at a restaurant or bar and I encourage you to bring your husbands.  My hope is that you stop by the mixer to meet other local parents then take off for your date night or just enjoy a few hours of kid free time.  The details to this events will be announced here and on my Facebook page.
  • Finding Joy posts: On Mondays, I will share a few happy moments from the previous week to start the week off with a smile on your face, an inspirational thought in your head, or a funny story to make you laugh.

Here’s my first Finding Joy post, I hope you enjoy it!

Happy Moments and Healthy Weeknight Recipes

This adorable short video of Golden Retriever pups playing in the snow with their mom brought a smile to my entire family’s faces.  It’s too cute not to share, definitely a happy moment in our household.

My happy moments from last week and Easy Healthy Weeknight Recipes

And these healthy weeknight recipes!  My husband has never been a vegetable guy.  He’ll eat them if I make them, but he won’t go out of his way to buy them or order them at a restaurant.  He’s always been a meat and potatoes type of eater.  Conversely, I LOVE vegetables.  The more the merrier!

BUT!  You guys!  This week my handsome hubby announced that he wants to eat more vegetables and even add some salmon into his diet.  *GASP* Uh, did he just say salmon?  He followed that up by saying that he’s really serious this time.  This was definitely a happy moment for me.

Here are four healthy weeknight recipes I made.  (I like to post my food pics on Insta, follow me @mamamomtourage.)

  1. Beef Roll Ups with Balsamic Glaze and Veggie Mashed Potatoes: I used this recipe for the roll-ups and this recipe for the veggie potatoes, minus the breadcrumbs.
  2. Pesto Spaghetti Squash with Meatballs: I used this recipe and added some pureed carrot to the meatballs and some leftover breakfast sausage.  The pesto is store-bought, I like the Raley’s brand in the refrigerated section.
  3. Spicy Salmon with Avocado Salad over a Couccous and Black Bean Salad:  I used this recipe for the salmon and tweaked this recipe for the couscous.
  4. Lemon and Garlic Whole Crockpot Chicken:  My go-to whole chicken recipe.  We eat the chicken the day it’s cooked, save leftovers for pasta, and keep the stock for soup.  Yum!  Recipe at the end of the post.

What happy moments did you enjoy last week?

XOXO
A

Lemon and Garlic Whole Crockpot Chicken

  • Rinsed and dried the chicken.
  • Rub with italian seasoning, lemon pepper, garlic salt, and olive oil.
  • Chop some lemons, a few bulbs of garlic, an onion, and some parsley.
  • Place a few of the aromatics on the bottom of the crockpot and place the chicken on top.
  • Stuff some aromatics into the chicken and around.
  • Add a few cups of chicken stock and put on low for 8 hours.

 

One thought on “Happy Moments and Healthy Weeknight Recipes

Thoughts????

