Dollar Store Crafts on Good Day Sacramento

Header Collage

Today I was on Good Day Sacramento talking with Melissa Cabral about Dollar Store crafts.  She challenged me to create one of a kind gifts and decor from the Dollar Store that look like a million bucks.  I accepted the challenge and had a really fun time coming up with these seven projects.

See the video of my appearance here.

DSC_6098Hand Soap Gift $1

The Dollar Store has some really festive smelling soaps.  It’s a great thing to offer as a gift, but it definitely needs a little more flair before gifting.  I found this adorable **free printable** at Teaspoons & Twine and printed it on card stock, punched a hole, and tied it to the bottle with festive twine.  Boom, instant upgrade!

DSC_6133

A Gift for the Baker $5

This entire gift cost me just $5!  Can you believe it?

DSC_6131

It’s a cupcake carrying case that contains a rubber scraper, a festive oven  mitt, cute cupcake liners, and peppermint sticks, a printed recipe for red velvet cupcakes, and “North Pole” tags from the KC Experience… all the ingredients needed to create some fabulous North Pole cupcakes!  Tie it all together with a bow and it is a perfect holiday gift.

DSC_6110Festive Chalkboard Tray $3

I have seen these cute silver trays turned chalkboard signs hanging on the walls of shops everywhere this season!  Did you know the Dollar Store has a great variety of these plain silver trays for just $1??

DSC_6093

I bought this oval one, taped the edges with painters tape I had, then painted the middle with chalk paint.

DSC_6097

After the paint dried I drilled two holes for the ribbon into the silver rim.  I strung some ribbon I already had and added a bow from the dollar store.  But that wasn’t enough!  I also added that super cute glittery pinecone.

DSC_6112

Now… to give or keep??

DSC_6101

Edible Cookie Plate DIY $2

‘Tis the season for cookie exchanges and potluck style get togethers.  Or maybe you like to deliver sweets to neighbors and friends.  This little trick is an easy way to upgrade your presentation without breaking the bank or wondering if you’ll ever get your plate back.

DSC_6092

 First, preheat your oven to 350°, then take all the wrappers off the candies.  That’s the toughest part, but get the kids involved, it will go so much faster.  Next, arrange your candy from the Dollar Store on parchment paper on a cookie sheet in any design you like.  Put it in the oven and bake for 8 minutes.

DSC_6100

As my daughter says… Easy peasy lemon squeezy.

DSC_6105Griswold Style Bottle Brush Décor

This year my family went to the mountains by my Grandma’s house and cut down our Christmas tree.  It was such a great memory for our family that I wanted to create a keepsake so we can remember that time every year.

griswold car

I bought the toy car at the Dollar Store, taped the wheels, and painted it a nice red.  Then I tied the tree to the roof with twine and added an ornament hook so that it can be placed on the tree next year  This year it is displayed in this lovely scene with a few other items I purchased at the Dollar Store.

DSC_6139

Cookie Cutter Bottle Brush Ornament

I’ve been going to Vintage Holiday Fairs and tons of antique shops lately, and I’ve seen these adorable ornaments everywhere.  They looked pretty easy to make, I just had to try it!  I bought the tree at the Dollar Store in a 2 pack and glued it to a cookie cutter that belonged to my Grandma.  Then I took a cotton ball and stretched it out.  I hot glued the cotton ball to the cookie cutter to make it look like snow.  Lastly, I tied some fishing line to the top of the tree so that I could add an ornament hook.  Voila!

DSC_6138

Joy to the World Art

I love seeing a sentiment of the season in shining festive colors.  I bought a foam board and two packs of gold thumb tacks from the Dollar Tree.  When I got home I found some green acrylic paint and applied it to the board with a roller brush.  Then I chose to use “Joy to the World” for the board.

DSC_6103

I printed the words in the font and size I liked, then taped them to the board.  I used the tacks to make indentions into the board for a template.  I pulled the paper away and pushed the gold tacks all the way in.

XOXO
A

Thoughts????

