Crocktober: It’s a wrap!

Balsamic Glazed Pork Tenderloin

I’m Megan and as Amanda mentioned I am taking on a slightly crazy mission for the month of October. It all started last October when I started the Facebook page, Crocktober, (you should check it out).  Anyhow, Amanda asked that every Monday throughout the month of October, I share one of the recipes from the previous week, so here we are. Of all the recipes that I attempted this past week, I think the Balsamic Glazed Pork Tenderloin was totally my favorite.

Balsamic Glazed Pork Tenderloin

Yum, right?  Totally!  We do eat pork tenderloin occasionally in our house, but I tend to overcook it in the oven because I’m always afraid it’s not cooked all the way.  But I have fond memories of my mom making pork tenderloin and me loving the heck out of it.  Then my Mom was watching my son for the night and when I went to pick him up in the morning, she said, “He ate SUCH a good dinner!”  I was kinda shocked.  She said we had pork tenderloin and rice and….. and then I remembered all about her pork tenderloin.  Geez, why did it take me so long to remember this?  I just never thought little Caleb would be so into a meat.  He is typically a grilled cheese, quesadilla, occasional ham or turkey fan.  BUT, if he was willing to eat it, I was willing to cook it.  This led to the re-introduction of pork tenderloin into my life.  And let’s just say, I am so glad it’s back.

Ingredients:
2 pounds pork tenderloin
1 cup balsamic vinegar
½ cup brown sugar
1 tbsp. corn starch or flour
1 tbsp. minced garlic
½ cup broth or water
1 tsp. chili powder
1 tsp chili flakes
Salt and pepper

I rubbed my pork with salt, pepper and garlic the morning of.  Placed in my crockpot, added the broth, covered and cooked on low (or even warm) for 6-8 hours.  About an hour before serving combine all the rest of your ingredients into a small sauce pan.  Bring to a boil and then reduce to low and continue cooking.  You are reducing your balsamic and trying to make it thicker and more like a glaze.  I also took all the juices out of the crock pot and added them into the mixture as well.  Once you have your reduction, top you your pork and cover again for the remaining hour.  JUST before serving, I turned on my broiler and stuck my pork in to crisp it up a bit…it worked like a charm.  Let it cool for a second and you’re ready to serve.

SOOOOOOO good!  I cannot even begin to explain it.  Just try it for yourself.  You will NOT regret it.  I promise!

XO
Meg

collage

Here’s all the Crocktober recipes she shared last week.  To see the complete recipes  “Like” her page here.

Here’s a list of the recipes she shared here throughout the month:

DAY 3_CROCKPOT APPLE CRISP

Crockpot Apple Crisp

Tomato Bisque

 Tomato Soup with Grilled Cheese Croutons

CHicken Ranch Wraps

Chicken Ranch Wraps

934859_359534484225175_5271850211088192122_n

Cinnamon Pecan French Toast

Here are some crockpot recipes I shared last month:

soup

beef stroganoff

 Crockpot Beef Stroganoff

10622776_10204298661722205_5445727869337358410_n

Crockpot Spicy Thai Soup

 All in all I’d say this was a successful Crocktober.  Super duper special thanks to Megs for sharing so many great recipes with us.  She really inspired me to use my crockpot more often.  She will be back next October for another impressive month of recipes, but until then I’ve asked her to stop by once in a while to tell us what’s cooking!

XOXO
A

Thoughts????

