Crockober: Cinnamon Pecan French Toast

Well Hello again, Mama Momtourage readers! Hope everyone had a fabulous weekend. In case you didn’t catch last Monday’s Post my name is Megan and last year I started a Facebook page, Crocktober.  (Don’t forget to “like” her page for daily updates!) I have been going crazy with my crock pot and I am here to share with you my favorite recipe from the past week.

Hands down best recipe of the week was……Cinnamon Pecan French Toast

934859_359534484225175_5271850211088192122_n

The day before I made this we did Banana Nut Bread in the crockpot.  It was delicious, so after the successful Banana Nut Bread, I knew I was going to try to bake something else in the crockpot. I also knew that I was thinking something for breakfast would be a good idea. There is something about waking up to breakfast already being ready and a yummy smelling house that is totally amazing and is a wonderful way to start your day. My son helped me get this ready last night, so he was very excited this morning and could not wait to eat breakfast. Having the little ones help you is an awesome way to get them involved and also a great way to get them motivated to eat. It’s really a win, win.

Ingredients:

  • ½ loaf of French bread
  • 6 eggs
  • 1 cup cream or milk
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • ½ cup pecans
  • ½ cup brown sugar
  • Please feel free to add in more milk or cinnamon or maybe a secret family ingredient…

Start by slicing your bread, about ¾ of an inch thick and set aside. In a shallow bowl, mix your eggs, milk, and cinnamon. Spray your crock pot with non stick cooking spray. Dip each piece individually into your egg wash, and then place it into your crockpot, creating a fan like affect. You can overlap them slightly, but not too much as you want them all to get the same amount of love from the crock pot. Pour whatever egg mixture is remaining over the top. In another small bowl, I mixed my brown sugar and pecans and then topped my French toast with it. I cooked my overnight on warm, and it was more than ready when we woke up the next morning.

Honestly, it could have cooked a little less and been fine. Or I could have stayed up later and turned started it later and it would have been ok too. Anyhow, it was super easy, super tasty, and such a good feeling to make something from scratch for your family!!

Also, this is a great way for your whole family to enjoy French toast at the same time. Usually when you make French toast, you can only make two pieces a time and so everyone is eating at scattered times, this drives me CRAZY! So, use your crockpot and enjoy your breakfast TOGETHER.

Enjoy the rest of your weekend.
XO
Meg

collage

Here’s all the Crocktober recipes she shared last week.  From the top left: Philly Cheesesteak, Chicken Noodle Soup, Strawberry Jam, Loaded Potato Soup, Banana Nut Bread, and Chicken Gyro.  You DO NOT want to miss another update!  There’s only 5 more Crocktober days left.  “Like” her page here.

Thoughts????

