Tomato Soup with Grilled Cheese Croutons

Well Hello again Mama Momtourage readers! Hope everyone had a fabulous weekend. In case you didn’t catch last Monday’s post my name is Megan and last year I started the Facebook page, Crocktober. I have been going crazy with my crockpot and I am here to share with you my favorite recipe from the past week.

Hands down best recipe of the week was…

Tomato Bisque

 Tomato Soup with Grilled Cheese Croutons!!  I loved everything about this dish. Here is my post form last week:

I absolutely LOVE Tomato Bisque, but what I love even more is having an excuse to dip a grilled cheese sandwich in something. Everyone, I mean everyone, likes grilled cheese. What’s not to love, seriously? Well this is my attempt at making the grilled cheese adult appropriate by calling it “croutons” while at the same time making it kid friendly because they are actually teeny tiny grilled cheese sandwiches on top of your soup.

This recipe is also a little sneaky because kids and husbands will have no idea you snuck in so many vegetables. It’s pure genius.

Ingredients:

A handful of baby carrots (very exact, I know)
A handful of celery
A handful of cauliflower
1 white onion
2 tbsp. minced garlic
1 cup half and half
31/2 cups chicken broth
2 cans petite diced tomatoes
1 cup Parmesan
Shredded cheese
Bread
Butter
Salt and Pepper to taste

I actually used my food processor to chop all the veggies the night before to make my morning go a little smoother. Plus, my little man likes to throw stuff in the food processor and watch it get “demolished”. Such a boy. Anyhow, so that was all done last night, and then this morning I just added the “demolished” veggies into the crock pot. Then I added my chicken stock, garlic, tomatoes, basil and salt and pepper and have it a stir. Turn it on low and cook for 5-6 hours. After five hours, add the half and half and basil and mix again, continue cooking for another 30 minutes. Hopefully, it’s at a consistency you like, if not you can always add more chicken broth or if you want it thicker add a rouge at this point. Once it’s to your liking, it’s time to get crackin’ on your grilled cheese, I mean “croutons”. Make your grilled cheese as you normally do. Once it’s done, cut it into little squares and let it sit for a few minutes. Serve up your soup, and then top with your “crouton” and fresh basil or more Parmesan if you like.

Side note, this soup is awesome because you have unlimited possibilities with what you can do with the leftovers. Eat as is, throw into a spaghetti sauce, use a chili base, use as base for tortilla soup. SO many possibilities!!!!!

Enjoy,

Megan

One thought on “Tomato Soup with Grilled Cheese Croutons

Thoughts????

