Crockpot Apple Crisp

megan

Greetings Mama Momtourage readers!

I’m Megan and as Amanda mentioned I am taking on a slightly crazy mission for the month of October. It all started last October when I started the Facebook page, Crocktober, (you should check it out).

collage

Week 1 Crocktober 2014

I made a different crockpot recipe for the entire month, shared it on my page and also gave my thoughts about the dish. I had so much fun with it last year, that I decided to try it again this year. Call me crazy, I know.

Anyhow, Amanda asked that every Monday throughout the month of October, I share one of the recipes from the previous week, so here we are. Of all the recipes that I attempted this past week, I think the Apple Crisp was totally my favorite. Also, I saw that Mama Momtourage had pinned a similar recipe so that made it even more fitting.

Crocktober’s Apple Crisp

DAY 3_CROCKPOT APPLE CRISP

 

Happy FRIDAY Y’all!!!

Since it is Friday, I am going to make this short and sweet. Literally, I am making a crock pot Apple Crisp, it doesn’t get much sweeter…or simpler. I have seen all sorts of different versions for this dessert on the internet and all over Pinterest, I simply could not resist. Also, we usually eat out on Friday nights so all signs were pointing to something sweet. So here we are.

This is another recipe that if you do any sort of baking ever, you will most likely have everything on hand in your pantry, with the exception of the apples.

Ingredients:

  • 1 ½ cups of flour
  • 1 cup of brown sugar
  • ½ cup of regular sugar
  • 3 tsp. of cinnamon
  • 1 cup of oats
  • 1 cup butter
  • Juice from ½ a lemon
  • 5 medium apples

Start by peeling and then slicing your apples. I left my apples on the cutting board and then poured the lemon juice over them and gave them a quick toss. In a separate bowl add all your dry ingredients as well as your butter and mix it up. I used my hands but you can use a spoon or something if you prefer. Once that is all mixed up, set that aside.

Using a paper towel rub butter along the inside of your crock pot. Then add your apples in an even layer across the bottom. Top with your crumble mixture, and you are basically done. Cover and cook on high for 3 ½ hours.

You could totally throw this together after work, go out to dinner and come home to a fabulous Fall desert. You could also top with some vanilla ice cream (which I would recommend) or possibly some whipped cream. That’s it, literally. Now all you have to do is eat it….

Side note: Like I mentioned before similar deserts are all over Pinterest. I’m glad that after gawking at them for a few years I finally bit the bullet and gave one a try. This was seriously so easy, you would be crazy not to try this! Also, it’s kind of impressive to where guests might not know how easy it was.

The only thing that I would say is that the top is not exactly a “CRISP”. But if you really wanted it crispy, bake it in your crock pot for the suggested amount of time and then just throw it under the broiler or in the oven for a few minutes. Easy peasy!

Xo

Megan

Collage 2013

Thanks so much Megan!!!!!!!  I have this on my list for this week.  I cannot wait to try.  You rock! XXOO  Don’t forget to “like” Crocktober on Facebook.  When you do, you can check out all the recipes from last year too, some are in the collage above.

Thoughts????

