Meet Sue

IMG_9170

Today’s mama is my mama!  You may remember her from this post.  She’s the most amazing mom ever.  She loves to laugh, always has a smile, is constantly looking on the bright side, and is the most nurturing person on the planet.  She truly sees the good in everyone.  She’s always up for an adventure.  She would give you her last penny if you needed it.  She’s taught me so many things in my life and continues to be an example of grace, patience, love, and faith.

Meet Sue

Hi!  I grew up in Sacramento as the oldest of three kids.  I lived in South Land Park for the most part and went to Holy Spirit School, St. John’s Academy for Girls, and Bishop Armstrong.  Then I went to Sac City and was a Sigma Phi Kappa.  After that I went to Sac State, that’s where my sorority sister, Dorothy, set me up on a blind date.  I met a handsome man that was home on leave from the Navy.  (He chose the Navy to avoid being drafted into the Army.)  The date went pretty well, but when he asked me to go to the Calaveras Frog Jumping Party, I said no.  Over the next year we were together all the time water skiing, snow skiing, and hanging out with our friends Dennis and Dorothy.  One day, we were driving on the Bay Bridge on our way back from San Francisco and he asked me to marry him.  It was a pretty casual ask, but I said yes anyway.  When we got back he said he wanted to take me shopping so I could pick out a ring, but he did the picking.  (You can read more about him here.)

wedding

We were married three months later in 1968.

kids

Before we were married we talked about how much we really wanted children.  So we were thrilled when, after being married for about four years, we had our first child, Melissa.  We also decided early on that I would stay at home once we had children.  I worked at an Insurance Agency, then for the Water Resource Board until I was pregnant with my first child and I became a stay at home mom.  My husband had a job that moved us around a bit, so the next few years were full of adventures in new cities with new houses and two more kids: Ben and Mandy.  We have been married for 46 years.

travel

I love to travel.  I have fond memories of going on trips with my sister, I have great memories of traveling with my husband and our kids, and I’m making all kinds of new memories traveling with our grandkids.

232323232fp-8->nu=322578>WSNRCG=3364--<;-2335nu0mrj

I especially love the beach.  We try to take as many vacations with the whole family as possible.  It’s so fun to have everyone under one roof, so we enjoy renting vacation houses so everyone can fit comfortably.  This picture was from a particularly fun trip to the Oregon Coast.  That’s me schlepping one of my grand babies over the dune.  Everytime I’m at the beach I’m on the lookout for real, authentic sea glass.  If you ever find any, I would love to see it!  I’ve also enjoyed traveling to Poland to meet my daughter-in-laws family, to London to see my cousin, throughout Europe, and various places around the US.

gkids

I have six granddaughters and just one grandson ages 23 – 1.  The three older girls live in Sacramento.  I’m so happy to have been able to spend so much time with them as I did when they were little and now that they are getting a little older it’s great to have a different relationship.  My son lives in Portland with his wife and their two little girls and I try to travel there often, those trips are never long enough!  Mandy and her kids live only 30 minutes away, so I really like all the time we get to spend together.  All my grandkids make me happy.

sports

I’m a big sports fan.  I really like the Niners, Giants, and Kings.  I got to see a Republics game this year and it was very exciting.  But I also love watching youth, high school, and college sports.  Watching kids play sports is so fun and exciting.  It’s easy to get caught up with all the enthusiasm you feel when you’re at one of those games.  I’ve been very involved in the Suburban Swim League for many years and really enjoy watching the kids get better and better.

I also really like gardening, sewing, and antiques.  I dislike having to make fast decisions.

Currently Coveting:

bedroom

A fully remodeled master bedroom.  We’ve been slowly remodeling our house over the years and our bedroom is next up on the list.  I would like periwinkle walls, wood floors, and a comfy tempurPedic bed.  Oh yeah, and a new rain jacket and a juicer!

I really love…

IMG_9183
My new kitchen!  About 2 years ago we did a MAJOR remodel.  We kept the tile flooring, but not much else!  I love my new cabinets.  They provide so much more storage than the old ones.  My oversized pot drawer is the best thing ever!  No more pulling everything out just to get that one sauce pot in the way back.  My stove is great because it has a gas cook top and an electrical oven.  It just makes cooking and baking so much easier and so much more fun!  I’m also really glad I went with soapstone counter tops for the look and durability.  If you are thinking about doing any kind of remodel, make sure you get what you really want.  Most people can’t (and don’t want to) remodel their kitchen every few years.

Guilty Pleasure…

Ladies that Lunch-2

Shopping!  I love shopping for anything.  But I especially love when I get to go with my daughter.  When my kids were younger, especially teenagers, shopping was something that wasn’t always so fun.  It was always about them.  I love shopping with Mandy (yes, that’s what I’ve always called her) because we have very similar taste and I love that we get to chat and catch up.  We like shopping for antiques, home items, clothing, beauty really anything.  It’s also a fun way to spend time with my grandkids.  Although, that does make the shopping part a little more difficult.  I especially love when we get to do “destination shopping” like to San Francisco, Capitola, Tahoe City, anywhere really.  We make a day of it and enjoy a fancy lunch and have a really great time!

Days

Also, Days of Our Lives.  I’ve been watching this soap since the beginning – 1972!  Thank goodness for DVR, I know I missed an episode here and there before DVR.

Fave beauty items:

face

 

CeraVe Facial Moisturizing Lotion AM $14.49  //  Banana Boat Lip Balm $1.97

I’m really not afraid to try any new skin care item or new make-up, but I’ve never really been the kinda gal that wears make-up everyday.  So my items are probably pretty boring….  But I really like this moisturizer with SPF, my Banana Boat Lip Balm with SPF, and I love my hair appliances: hair dryer, straightener, and curling iron.

**Most Memorable** mommy moment…

IMG_9182

This incident took place in 1979.  I was 7 1/2 months pregnant with Mandy, my son was 2, and my eldest daughter was 7.  My brother-in-law was getting married in Medford, Or and we were living in Los Alamitos (LA area) I was busy trying to get everyone ready for drive and the wedding.  My husband was working and had a long drive home before our long drive to the wedding.  Our house was ranch-style house had a window enclosed porch.  The kids were in another part of the house when I heard my 2yo son scream bloody murder!  I ran into to find that my 7yo had been roller skating and somehow roller skated right through the top 1/2 of the window to the porch.  She was really bloody.  She was serious cut up on her face, chest, back of her arms, it seemed like everywhere!  I rushed her to the ER, then came home and finished packing us up.  My husband came home after he picked up with suit and we started our long drive.  We left our house with a broken window for four days!  The long drive was made even longer because I had to stop every four hours to pee and walk a little.  Thanks goodness we were driving through the night because our kids slept the whole way.

I cannot imagine what I would do if I found my child after roller-skating through a window.  Oh man!  By the way, her kitchen is pretty fabulous!  I cannot believe I don’t have more pictures.  Soapstone is pretty fantastic.

Thanks mom!  Love you!

Have a great weekend!

XOXO
A

4 thoughts on “Meet Sue

  1. Wonder if you knew the Loscos (Maryanne, Maria, Frank) or the McLaughlins (Kay and Jerry)? I think they went to Holy Spirit and they grew up in S Land Park and Land Park. My husband’s family and my Dad’s family.

Thoughts????

