The Common Cold

collage

Back to school is a time of year when children glean more than just an education from their classroom and classmates, they can also get the common cold and many other illnesses.  Which means that parents, caregivers, teachers, and just about everybody else are at risk as well.  No fun!

My husband will tell you that I am a terrible patient who HATES to take medicine.  Sadly, this is true.  I chalk it up to having a fabulous mom that took really great care of me all the time, but especially when I was under the weather.  I just need a little extra TLC, sheesh!  Anyway, when Nick and I were engaged I got super sick but couldn’t take any time off work because I planned to use all my vacation days for the wedding and honeymoon.  One day he stopped by my office and brought me an entire grocery bag of get-well goodies.  Orange juice, cough drops and syrups, magazines, vapor rub, healing bath salts, tea, shower melting things, a humidifier with essential oils… I think he basically bought out the entire medicinal section.  Love that man.  The bottom line is that no one has time to be sick, no one likes being sick, and I don’t like to take medicine!  Ha!  See, it’s true.  But I am a fan of vitamins – go figure.

Today’s pinsperation is all about the common cold.  For more health inspiration follow my Health and Fitness Board.  You can find all my boards and pins here.  Enjoy!

Prevention: Boost Immunity

eat your vitamins

Eat Your Vitamins via The Skinny Confidential 

 A good list of reasons why you should ditch the vitamins and boost your immunity (and other benefits) year round by changing your diet.  It sounds like a much better tasting plan!

0c021efee9bf1ac027c1a99f30d674ac

Vitamin 101 via The Skinny Confidential

If you can’t eat your vitamins, there’s no shame in supplementing!  She has a great list of daily vitamin intake and what they do for you.  The highlights that pertain to colds are: D3 – immunity, Echinacea – prevents colds, and Flax – contains Zinc.  Doesn’t hurt to try!

af1c7f9e395b3ff2e79780265541110b

Top Superfoods via Health and Nutrition Online Guide

 Adding one of the top five pan  daily basis is a great way to build your immunity year round, but upping the intake to at least five of these daily when cold and flu season starts could really help!


Lemon-and-hot-water-tip

Beauty Tip via The Skinny Confidential

This is proven to boost the immune system as well as a ton of other benefits!  It’s easy and fairly inexpensive.

9c7d16c9848835bd78156f7f5961cbde

Green Tea Health Benefits via Positive HealthMed

How about adding that lemon to a warm cup of Green Tea.  There are obviously sooooo many benefits to green tea, why not combine them?  Typically I switch from coffee to green tea when the weather changes, I prefer the TAZO brand Zen in a tin.  Not in a box, the tin for some reason is much stronger.  This green tea has caffeine in it, which I desperately need.

Crap, that didn’t work: You’re sick

 

webmd

 

Sambucol for Kids $8.99   //  Kan Jang Plus Immune Support $10.35

Taking zinc, either as a syrup or lozenge, through the first few days of a cold may shorten the misery of an upper respiratory infection, the latest research shows.

Via WebMD

This was such a great article!  I highly recommend you read it and book mark it.  It looks at the typical natural cold remedies and lets you know what studies have or haven’t proven.  My mom swears by Cold Eeze zinc lozenges and this proves that they can help with the cold.  She’s been right all along, she usually is.

Also the Sambucol is an elderberry syrup.  This is what WebMd had to say about that:

One study shows that taking 4 tablespoons a day for three days of a specific formulation of elderberry extract — Sambucol — appears to shorten the symptoms of flu by 56%.

This Jan Kang is something I’ve never heard of before.  It’s classified as an Andrographis and this is what WebMD says it has proved to do:

There’s also some early evidence that it may reduce the chances of catching a cold, at least when taken for several months beforehand. Most studies have used a specific product called Kan Jang, which combines andrographis with Siberian ginseng

ad62fde0196acf0fcd670bac32715113

The Dream Team via Heather Gwinup

The link has a recipe for the Cold and Flu Bomb, it’s supposed to be taken at the first sign of a cold.  Order yours now from Heather, email her: heather {dot} gwinup {at} gmail {dot} com.

2cf76490753afd057ee7f12b438e4592

The Dream Team via Heather Gwinup

Another great all natural way to help with cold symptoms.  Love that!  Order yours now from Heather, email her: heather {dot} gwinup {at} gmail {dot} com.
a4fabb3e1794ad73dd1e7a1456f67fa2

10 Best Over the Counter Meds via Men’s Health

When all the preventative and natural cures don’t work, I reach for the big guns.  My mom buys this for me (I know, such a baby) from her supermarket.  You have to ask for it and they track how much you buy.  Because of me, my poor mom is probably on some watch list for meth lab people.  Sorry mom….  This really does “dry me up” in the best way possible.  Just don’t take it for too many days in a row, it’s strong stuff!

TLC: For You or Your Loved One

9623776c071071d82609880770da2efd

The Chicken Soup Recipes That Will Cure Your Cold via The Huffington Post

While you are waiting for your remedies to kick in, have a loved one make one of these recipes for you!  Or make one for a sick friend.  I know they’ll appreciate it.  Last year I had a nasty, lengthy cold.  A good friend brought me some soup and it made me feel so good.  It was delicious, but I felt like someone cared about me and wanted to make my day a little easier.  That’s good medicine!

5bc6e9fdad6af94c93768b17065fb298

Matzo Ball Soup via Cupcakes and Cashmere

This recipe looks delicious and hearty.  Definitely something to try when I need to switch it up from the traditional chicken soup recipe.

9be82b9e6fc80645aed48637f22c0a3a

A Cold Care Package Card via Isn’t That Sweet

Such cute presentation!  This link has instructions on how to make this box to fill with cold and flu remedies to gift to a friend.  Warning, it looks time consuming, but adorable!

6c714fbf8803c299762e2125599acbea

Cute gift for a sick friend via The Stubborn’s Place

This is just as adorable but much easier!  I love the honey and lemon and the fact that it’s in a little mug.  This would be great with some green tea bags.

6e8b46ecea5c54f01ac304a8a2e879ff

 Care Package via Positively Splendid

This would make a great teacher’s gift at the beginning of cold and flu season.  Who couldn’t use some Emergen-C, chapstick, and cough drops!?

If you still need more inspiration follow my Health and Fitness Board.  You can find all my boards and pins here.  Enjoy!

XOXO
A

Thoughts????

