Mama Tech: Top 10 apps for Moms and Kids

 

collage

A good app can make life soooooo much easier!  I love when I can get things out of my mind and clear up some space.  I also like an app that will keep my kids busy and educated.  I’ve never really given my kids free range of my phone or even let my kids handle my phone much.  Not that there’s anything wrong with that, it’s just been what I’ve done, it wasn’t a conscious choice I made, it was just something I never thought to do.  Both my kids get plenty of tech exposure from relatives and their dad.  From phones to the iPad, they know how to navigate to apps or pictures.

That was it until my daughter was about 3 years old.  She started using the Easy-Bake app (info below) on a relative’s phone and loved it.  I found that it kept her busy and I began to realize that it was actually good for her motor skills.   So I installed the app.  I kept it on my phone for about a year until I needed to free up some space.  Then we all forgot about the app… until about a month ago.  Now my son’s totally hooked!  I’ve seen an improvement in his fine motor skills.  I won’t be downloading any zombie farm apps or video game apps (for now at least), but I do download apps that improve something valuable for my kids.

Here are my top ten apps for moms and kids to help organize your family’s schedule, keep the kids busy, and fashion advice.

cozi

Cozi

This is still my top-used app.  It’s the best way to organize a busy family because it has the family calendar, to do lists, journal, and shopping lists all in one place.  It’s been especially helpful for me with school and soccer starting.  There is a free version and a paid version.  I’m still using the free version.  I highly recommend it.

stylish

ask-zappos

Ask Zappos

This is a FREE app that’s basically like a digital assistant.  If you are out shopping and you see something you like but they don’t have your size or if you like someone’s street style, you take a picture and text it, instagram it, or email it to Zappos and they will get back to you within 24 hours with where you can get that item or at least something similar.  This was launched in the testing phase in June and began being promoted on their homepage in August, but I have yet to be able to find the actual app in my app store, so I guess this is one to watch.  You can read more about the service here.

period

Preschool Memory Match

With my little one in Kindergarten I’m realizing how important for kids to learn how to memorize things.  From kinder sight words to 3rd grade multiplication tables to everything else in high school and college and life.  This Flash Memory app is $2.99 and great for pre preschool kids and young elementary school kids.

easy bake

Easy-Bake Treats

This is the FREE app I mentioned above.  Your child can make, bake, decorate, eat and share virtual cakes, cupcakes, cookies, cake pops, pizza and now pretzels.  They have tons of options to make boys or girls happy.  One super cute part of the app is the candles.  Kids can actually “blow” them out.  Adorable.

 

super why

Super Why!

My little girl is playing this as I type.  She”s doing the rhyming game in the pic.  It’s perfect for where she is in school right now.  It’s like tutoring from the adorable cartoon character from Super Why the TV show.  This app is $2.99.

 

dino

American Museum of Natural History: Dinosaurs

My dino loving son wants to know all the names of all the dines and wants to know everything about them.  Unfortunately I don’t have all the answers he needs.  Thanks to this FREE app I don’t have to.  This app starts with several pictures of dinosaurs that make up a T-Rex.  My little man can tap any image to learn more.  Love that!

toddler

Toddler Teasers: Shapes

Another FREE app geared toward the pre preschool or preschool set.  The app asks the user to touch a shape, when they get four right, they get a sticker.  It’s the basics in fun colors in an easy to navigate app.  Bonus: this app was created my a real mom and dad in an effort to keep their kiddo busy with something educational.

 

Do you have a favorite app?  I’d love to hear about it!

XOXO
A

2 thoughts on “Mama Tech: Top 10 apps for Moms and Kids

  1. Other than Starbucks! My fav apps are: Google maps, wheather channel, quick tip, red stamp (for sending ecards), and goodreads (Facebook for book lovers). My kiddos love Brian pop. All free!

    Can’t wait to try out some of your suggestions.

Thoughts????

