Kidaround Magazine and Child Cancer

 

IMG_8988

Have you checked out the September-October issue of Kidaround Magazine yet?  If not, you definitely need to!  You can pick it up around town, or read it online here.  It’s the Family Issue and is full of interesting families to meet, like the Webers.  Nichole was a featured Five for Friday mama in August.  That’s how I met Nichol, by interviewing her family for Kidaround.

IMG_8987

You can find my article about the Webers on page 21.  I was so impressed with them from the moment they opened their door to me.  Bryce is a vibrant, full-of-life, mile-a-minute kid.  You would never guess that he had battled a life threatening disease not long ago.  Their younger son is so in love with his big bro.  He’s such a sweet little guy that wants to do everything his super hero brother is doing.  Nichol and Erec take it all in stride, they don’t treat Bryce differently or handle him with kid gloves.

Today I am re-running Nichol’s Five for Friday post to share my article to you, but also to tell you that September is Child and Blood Cancer Awareness month.  From donating time, donating money, and spreading the word that September is the month to shine a light on such a devastating and heartbreaking disease.  To help support the cause, you can buy Bryce and the Blood Ninjas at bryceandthebloodninjas.com and a portion of the proceeds from the book go to Keaton Raphael Memorial and the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society.  Another way to donate is by going directly to the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society website to help them reach their goal of $300,000 in 30 days.  They are only $38,604 away!

Meet Nichol

photo 1a

This mama is an inspiration.  Her family experienced something that would test the bonds of any family.  Instead of feeling the strain, their experience and pain pulled them together.  Even their unborn son was strong enough to wait to be born until just the right time.  If baby James had been born any earlier, the tests they ran on his big brother would never have shown that he had cancer.  Another amazing thing about Nichol and her family, is that they never focused on that diagnosis.  They focused on life and enjoying every moment they were given.  Here is their story of family strength in Nichol’s own words.

I am thrilled that I was asked to share my story for all the other mamas. I’m Nichol Weber and I recently moved to Rancho Cordova (Kavala Ranch) in June. I am enjoying the suburban life. I have been married to my wonderful husband, Erec, for seven years. We have two handsome sons, Bryce (6) and James (2). For the last ten years, I have been a fourth grade teacher.

photo 4

The last two years have been a wild road for the two of us. When I was 27 weeks pregnant with James, I was put on bed rest, which was a total shock and completely scary. It was a huge adjustment for us, but we did what we had to do. At 34 weeks, I was cleared to “move around” again. On July 3, 2012, I delivered a beautiful and healthy baby boy. During the end of my pregnancy, my oldest began complaining about leg pains. He would wake up in the middle of the night crying about his legs. We simply thought they were growing pains. This continued for about eight weeks off and on. Finally, we made a doctor’s appointment, the doctor decided to draw blood to rule out possible reasons for the leg pain.

bald bryce

That night, we were called to the ER, and our life completely changed. On August 8, 2012, my son was diagnosed with Leukemia. There’s nothing that can prepare, or soften, the blow of cancer. He was only 4 years old at the time, and I was so scared for the future. James was only six weeks old, and as a new mother, I felt completely overwhelmed. The only thing I knew is that I had to be strong for my boys. My husband and I really grew as a couple, and have worked to stay Bryce’s positive force.

photo 5

We are now two years into the treatment process, and Bryce has done so well. We’ve had our ups and downs, but Bryce has taught us how to be strong. He is always so happy and positive, and has made this process so much easier for us. I’ve learned so much about myself, and life, in the last two years. I am so grateful for my life and my family. We are a strong family, and through all of this, we’ve become stronger.

Unknown

I am grateful for all the people who have supported us through this journey. We have had wonderful family and friends step up to help in any way possible. Bryce’s team of doctors and nurses have been amazing. Our journey will continue, and I am looking forward to the future. I know, as a family, we can conquer anything!

Currently Coveting:

Kitchen at the HGTV Smart Home 2013 located in Jacksonville, FL

Photo via HGTV

Making our new house feel like “us”. We still have so much to do, but I absolutely love it! We have been painting, organizing, and decorating. It can get pretty expensive, so I have to pace myself. It’s so much fun to go into each room and decide the best look for it! I’ve been watching HGTV shows for ideas. It is a process, but an exciting one!

I really love…

collage

My television shows! I love being a mom, and my boys definitely keep me busy. So when I get to relax, I love turning on the TV to be removed from reality. I know it would sound better to say working out, but I have to be honest. I love watching Royal Pains, Castle, Scandal, Arrow, Satisfaction, and Franklin and Bash, to name a few. I’m not a huge reality fan, I like mystery and drama shows with a bit of humor too.

Guilty Pleasure…

candy collage

Chocolate! If I could, I would eat chocolate for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. I like all different kinds of chocolate, but Reese’s, Snickers, and Butterfingers are my favorite. Although, when I get to go the Rocky Mountain Chocolate Company, I am simply in heaven. I love all their milk chocolate and their yummy carmel apples.

Fave beauty items:

clinique

Clinique Moisture Surge Tinted Moisturizer SPF 15 $27

Clinique Tinted Moisture Surge. I use it instead of foundation, and love it! It’s so light and moisturizing, my skin loves it. This has been one of the best Clinique products for me!

Recent mommy moment…

photo 2

Everyday is a mommy moment, and I am sure many of you can relate. My most recent mommy moment was my two year old finally said Mom! Like most toddlers, he started saying Daddy a long time ago. Every time we would have him try to say Mommy, he would just smile. He never attempted the word, just all smiles. Of course my feeling were somewhat hurt because I really wanted to hear him say Mommy. Finally, he uttered the simple word, “Mom!” I was so excited that he was finally saying my name, however, I got over it pretty fast. Now, he just walks around the house yelling, “MOM, MOM, MOOOOMMMM!” I guess the lesson is be careful what you wish for! LOL!

 

 

Thanks so much for sharing your incredible journey with us.  It’s truly inspiring!  Something that Nichol is not telling you is that because she challenged her husband to a month off social media, he wrote a book!  Yep, it’s a children’s book that explains the chemo process in a way that children can understand.  Bryce and the Blood Ninjas is available for purchase via their website, bryceandthebloodninjas.com.  A portion of the proceeds from the book go to Keaton Raphael Memorial and the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society.  On their website, you can also see a video of the family talking about their experience.  It’s pretty cute to see little Bryce talk so proudly about the Blood Ninjas!  And follow them on Facebook here.

If you want to read more Five for Friday posts you can see them all here.

Have a great weekend!

XOXO
A

Thoughts????

