Detoxing and Dry Brushing

Yesterday, I confessed that I am 10% hippie and love OP.  Today’s post is along the same vein.  Over the years I’ve learned to love a good cleansing detox in addition to regular exercise.  I’ve been married for almost 9 years and in that time I’ve had a few weight fluctuations.  The first one was stress and “love pounds” during the first year of marriage, then again with each kid.  I never feel comfortable when I’m carrying some extra weight around.  It’s about that time that I start to look for ways to kick start my weight loss.  The first time I did this was a super unhealthy situation when I was trying to drop a few LBs (like 3) before my big wedding day.  I totally did that “Hollywood Miracle Diet” drink, you basically dilute some disgusting (most likely toxic) juice with water and drink it for a few days.  It was terrible and unhealthy.  I do not condone or promote it.  And have never done it since.

While working as a wedding planner at an awesome facility, I started to learn all about raw eating, juicing, and why one needs to eat to live and not live to eat.  This is also where my love affair with wheatgrass shots began; liquid sunshine!  I did some guided juice cleanses while there and always loved the results.  Yes, I lost a few pounds, but the benefits went far beyond that.  My tastebuds were re-set, my skin cleared, I had more energy, I slept better and on and on and on.

$T2eC16Z,!)QE9s3HFh9jBRb2Vl6p5g~~_35

Detox for Women by Natalia Rose

 After my daughter was born, I was having a hard time getting the last 10 pounds off so I started to research different cleanses.  At that point, I didn’t think a strictly juice diet was going to work at that time, so I started to seek out other options.  That’s when I found this book: Detox for Women by Natalia Rose.  I really liked it because it’s a set plan with recipes.  Natalia’s book tells you what to do everyday for 28 days and beyond.  You actually eat, but you juice in the morning with homemade green lemonade.  Love that, I still make it!  I’ve done the 28 day detox several times.  When I’m not doing it, I still make the salads, juices, and a few of the root vegetable bakes.

1-2-14-3

Another detox I’ve done is the Dr. Oz 3 Day Detox.  It’s great because he gives you a shopping list to take to the store and you don’t need any special equipment – just a blender.  You drink four smoothies a day.  I still make the breakfast one from time to time.

10422518_471603119641981_5548240798341654720_n

Photo Credit: Soulstice Juice Facebook

If you’re not into the DIY cleanses, there are several options where someone else does all the work for you.  Soulstice Juice is a local company where you can pick up your custom-made cleanse.  This mother/daughter team is in located in El Dorado Hills and you NEED to follow them on Facebook so you can see what they’re daily offerings are.  Follow them here.  They are organic certified and cold press their juices.  I’ve had a few of their juices and loved each one.  I also like that they tell you the purpose of each ingredient.  Plus, helloooooo, local business – LOVE that!

The biggest thing to come out of Detox for Women by Natalia Rose, aside from the Green Lemonade, was DRY BRUSHING.  It’s so simple, takes very little time, is painless, and the brush is cheap!  Exfoliation is just the tip of the benefits you can get from dry brushing, it also stimulates the lymphatic system, increases circulation, and is said to improve digestion and kidney function – beat the bloat!  But the biggest reason I dry brush is that it reduces cellulite.  Yes, it’s true.  And you don’t even have to break a sweat!

mn-yerba-tampico-brush

Yerba Prima Tampico Skin Brush

This is the type of brush you need.  It was like $8 and I bought mine at Whole Foods.  While you’re there stop by the juice bar and get a large Green Buzz.  Yum, my fave!  Then, every morning, right BEFORE the shower when your skin is dry and the brush is dry follow these instructions:

Stroke each area of the body two times towards the closest lymph center.  For example, when you brush your legs, stroke each area as though you are shaving in upward strokes toward the knees, then on the thighs in upward strokes toward the groin.  The back of the legs and buttocks do not need to go toward the groin but they will receive a nice ‘lifting’ of flow that will eventually improve the contour of that area.  I recommend making circular strokes around ‘saddlebags’ or any areas plagued with cellulite.  For the arms, start by stoking the palm of the hands to stimulate the reflexology points, then move to the tops of the hands and then, as you did with the legs, make strokes up the arms (two strokes on each ‘strip’) all toward the armpits.

Natalia Rose , author of Detox for Women

Seriously, do this for two weeks and tell me that you don’t notice any difference.  I dare you!

XOXO
A

Thoughts????

