DIY Sunburst Mirror Tutorial

Hey everybody!  I will be posting all my top/favorite posts this week but I will have a brand new Five for Friday mama for you on Thursday.  The Rinos and I are celebrating ‘Merica in style this week with a little vacay to the mountains.  If you want to keep up with our shenanigans, you can see daily vacay pics (if you’re into that sorta thing) by following me on Instagram @mamamomtourage.  Cheers!

I wrote this tutorial back in September.  We still really love this mirror!

IMG_4370

I’ve got an adorable little project for you today!  I’m in love with starburst mirrors.  I think they are fab!  There’s no way you can go wrong by adding one of these to your gallery wall or to doll up a plain, empty wall.  Here’s the tutorial so you too can have one of these cuties gracing the wall of your laundry room.

IMG_4648

 

Materials list:

  • Silver charger 13″
  • kids plate 8″ (or small plate, this is one I had on hand)
  • small mirror 7″ (mine is from Michael’s – ALWAYS use a coupon.  They print them like Monopoly money.)
  • clothespins – I used about 125 of them.  But buy more than you need because some break along the way or you might not like the color of the wood.   (Mine are from Target because I happened to be there.)
  • Drill fitted with a 1/8″ drill bit
  • glue gun and glue sticks

IMG_4653

 

The first thing you need to do drill a hole into your larger plate.  I used a silver charger.  It was the right size and I liked the sheen of the finish.  The silver will shine through the top layer of the clothespins and add a nice touch of bling.

IMG_4655After drilling your hole, string a piece of twine through the hole and tie it in a knot.  Make sure the knot is pretty close to the charger so you can’t see the twine when the final product is hung.

IMG_4660

Next, clip the clothespins to the plates.  It doesn’t matter which plate you do first, just get them all on there.  I had Lyla do this part for me.  It’s really giving her fine motor skills a workout.

IMG_4665

While you, or your little minion, is doing the clipping, warm up that glue gun!  Just make sure you like the angle of the pins and that they are all placed evenly.

After both plates have clothespins all the way around you are ready to start glueing everything together.  Put the larger plate down first, then the smaller plate, and then place the mirror on top.

IMG_4664

Once you feel like the mirror is just the right place, mark it with a pencil.

Then glue it up!  I put the hot glue in a circle on the bottom of the mirror and glued it down.  Then glued the little plate to the larger plate.

IMG_4667

While it was drying I had the hubster put a nail and hook in the wall.  Then I looped the sting around it and hung and cleaned the mirror.

IMG_4669

Here it is in all its glory.  It really brightens up my laundry room.  And Miss Lou loves to admire her work!

Have a great day!

XOXO
A

2 thoughts on “DIY Sunburst Mirror Tutorial

Thoughts????

