Meet Meghan

Happy Friday!  Today’s mama has two adorable little boys.  We met through mutual friends a few years ago only to realize that we lived just down the street from each other.  We both moved out of that neighborhood at the same time and into the same neighborhood, just down the street from each other again.  Her name is Meghan.  She’s beautiful, smart, witty, and always friendly.  Every time I see her I feel like I’ve just learned something new.  I’m sure you will too.

Meet Meghan…

1

Hi, I’m Meghan and I live in Folsom. I uprooted from Florida and headed to the west coast exactly 10 years ago. Shortly after following my college sweetheart to Folsom, whom I met while attending the University of Florida, he proposed and we got hitched in 2006. I put my career as a Research and Development Food Scientist on hold in order to start a family. We have two high energy or ‘spirited’ boys ages 5 and 21 months who always keep me on my toes! There’s never a dull moment in our house since I live with a bunch of comedians!

2

I’m somewhat of a jack-of-all-trades around the house as long as it doesn’t involve the computer or TV configurations. I leave that techy stuff to my sweet husband. I enjoy cooking, running and being active, crafting, sewing, gardening, fixing up things around the house, and most recently refurbishing old furniture. Here’s a peek at my $20 Goodwill find that I’m reupholstering.  I also have an Etsy shop, Moonberry Rain.  (You can shop here.)

I don’t want to dwell on my dislikes, but I dislike olives, foie gras, cleaning the cat box, and rude people. Oh and I also dislike it when I forget about my coffee and it gets cold.

Currently Coveting:

3

Heathridge Bedroom Furniture $3,329

I have my eye on the Heathridge bedroom set at Macy’s to accommodate our fabulous Cal King Tempurpedic Rhapsody bed. If you’ve ever had low back pain, this is the bed for you! Our mismatched bedroom set is sad and broken to say the least so this ‘covet’ is more of a necessity at this point.

I really love…

5

Plants. I love to garden and compost.  It’s a great hobby since I can do a bit here and there when the little one naps or while the kids play outside. I can easily stop when I am interrupted by my children and later pick back up where I left off.

Guilty Pleasure…

4

Snacking on Ritz crackers dipped in Lotus Biscoff European Cookie Spread  (or Trader Joe’s Speculoos Cookie Butter).  It’s salty and sweet…mmmm! It happens to pair wonderfully with a glass of red wine.  If you are an addict like me, Costco sells big jars of this wonderful goodness. Ok, off to do some exercise to work off that cookie butter…

Fave beauty item:

6

Auric Blends Egyptian Goddess Perfume Oil $8.49

I love, love, love Auric Blends Egyptian Goddess roll-on perfume oil. I pretty much wear the stuff every day. It has such a soft, sweet, seductive aroma that isn’t too overwhelming like a lot perfumes.  Nobody likes to gag over the perfume the lady is wearing in front of you in the checkout line!

My husband loves it too. He doesn’t buy me perfumes since he loves this one on me so much. Did I mention it’s such a great buy too?! Only $8.49 and it lasts me about 6 months or more. Absolutely love this stuff! Give it a try!

Recent mommy moment…

This mom moment is a couple years old, but I still get a chuckle when I think about it. So here it goes…

You know that moment when you are potty training your child and you think to yourself ‘I think this kid might actually have this potty training down’?  With this newfound confidence in your child’s ability to ‘hold it’ you decide venture out and take the potty trainee on their/your first outing: In underwear.  Well, I finally got to this stage in the process and decided Bel Air grocery store was a good spot to go. Run in, grab some produce and milk and then we’ll head back home. Forty minutes round trip, tops, right?! Wrong.

Step one complete. We made it to Raley’s without the little guy wetting his carseat. Yay!! On to shopping: No sooner did I step into the grocery store and start picking out some potatoes did I hear my son say the dreaded phrase, ‘uh-oh’. I looked down and saw the waterfall of pee running down his legs, soaking his socks and shoes, and creating a lake right there in front of the potatoes. I quickly dropped the potatoes, fruitlessly insisted he ‘make it stop’, but it was too late. Sigh. I scooped up the wet child and on my way to the restroom I told the worker stocking produce that my son had peed all over the floor by the potatoes.  Moments later I heard over the intercom, “CLEAN UP ON AISLE 1”.  I wasn’t even that embarrassed. There is something about having kids that numbs you to the embarrassment that would have made you humiliated pre-kids. You just pick up the pieces and move on.

I hope you enjoyed my spotlight. Have a great weekend!

Meghan

Thanks so much for letting us is on your secrets, Meghan!  I had no idea you had an Etsy shop, Moonberry Rain.  You guys should totally check out her adorable ruffly items.  And like Moonberry Rain on FB.  I need to know what the secret to your beautiful garden is!  Looks amazing!

Have a fabulous weekend!

XOXO
A

 

Thoughts????

