My favorite summer salad

A few years ago I had the most delicious dinner at Hawks Restaurant in Granite Bay with my husband.  It was one of those meals where your entire mindset about a particular food changed.  On that day, watermelon was going to change to me forever.  Until that moment I had only thought of it as sweet and refreshing.  I’d had watermelon paired with mint, but that was about it.  That day I ordered the sardine and watermelon salad.  It was a weird concoction of warm fried sardines and cool sweet watermelon.  I loved it.  I had never thought of pairing watermelon with savory ingredients, from that moment on, I was hooked.

DSC_1892

Watermelon, mint, and feta summer salad

I’m not into deep frying things on my own, but I wanted to recreate that salad.  Soon after that meal I began my love affair with this salad.  It’s easy to make and very refreshing.

IMG_4101

All you do is cut a watermelon into cubes or balls with a melon baller.  If you’re lucky enough, your watermelon will who you some love.

DSC_1885

I grow mint in my garden, so I walked out and picked a few leaves for my salad.

DSC_1887

I like to chiffonade my mint, I think it looks prettier that way.  The best way to do this is to roll your mint up into a little burrito-looking-bundle and slice.

DSC_1888

Place your watermelon on your plate.

DSC_1889

Add the mint.

DSC_1890

And top with feta.

And that’s it!  Easy, so pretty, and delicious!  This is a great salad to take to a potluck, just put the feta on the side.  This would make a great first course for a summer dinner party.  This would also be a great appetizer, you could serve it on individual spoons.  The salt in the feta will blow your mind.  I’m not kidding.  Enjoy!

XOXO
A

3 thoughts on “My favorite summer salad

Thoughts????

