Welcome to Summer

 

collage of today

Today is my little girls last day of TK.  I can’t believe how time flies!  She’s really had a great year thanks to her amazing teacher Mrs. Peterson.  Adding another level of special, her teacher used to babysit my husband and his sister.  That’s very special.  She made so many memories this year and learned so much.  In many ways it was a really great year!

I’m going to go cry now…I can’t believe we’re starting another chapter in my little angel’s life.  Another school and another grade older as a full fledged Kindergartener.  It’s so silly, we have children fully knowing that our job is to try to raise them right so they can go to college and become adults who do productive things with their lives.  Meanwhile, moms like me drag their heels with every step because I just can’t….not my preshuuuuus baaabbbeeeeee!  Just stop growing, mmmmkay????

collage of lou

Ever since Lyla was in her 1st year of preschool I started doing a “School Finish Line/Welcome to Summer Ceremony” by having her run through a finish line as soon as she gets home from school on her very last day.  I think she thought I’d lost my marbles the first year, but last year she was asking about it in the car on the way home.  B even got into the action!  Looking at these pictures shows me how much she has grown in just a few short years.  I cannot wait to watch them do it this year!

Here are a few of my top pins for welcoming your little (or big) scholar to the magical time of the year that is SUMMER!  You can follow my Welcome to Summer board for more inspiration.  Or find all my boards and pins here.  Enjoy!

6620660b93576340f7f9042126d9e609

The Best Graduation Gift Starts in Kindergarten from Great Gifts Anytime

I’ve been doing this, but I don’t have the cute note.  I’m totally adding it for next year!

63f1f63d4b7527366941716fa7fd5442

Summer Fun for the Kids: Summer Fun Kit from Crazy Little Projects

I do something similar as well.  This year mine has some magnetic words so she can make sentences and poems as well as a Frozen puzzle and some other goodies from the “dolla dolla bins y’all” at Target.

d52b57de1bc0603bf7139d7a3a36b92a

First and Final Day of School Interviews from Positively Spendid

I’ve never done this before, but I do love an interview with a wee one!  Totally doing this!!

51bc1d9d10b10286d4880c6c4f9ba83b

Last Day of School Countdown from Happy Home Fairy

We all know I love a countdown!  And this looks especially fun because the kids have to pop the balloons.  So so cute!  I think I would have to find a way to put it up high enough that the balloons don’t get punched before they are supposed to be popped.

774600ef1564f782954d306f3d850dec

Last Day of School Ideas from Sugar Bee Crafts

I kinda want to do this! So fun!

a1e17248ffd7c03cbf6760b5739c37b0

(If anyone knows where this pic came from please let me know so I can properly credit them.)

Last day of school tailgate party little kids style!  Ahhhhh tailgating….this is not the kind with adult libations.  Super cute!  Maybe next year.

1449dc3a4760a59dfbcaa52ede11b256

Last Day of School Activities from All Things Simple

This blog has a ton of really cute ideas, but they also have a great recipe for DIY sidewalk chalk.  It’s pretty cool!  And the kids can use paint brushes, what kid doesn’t enjoy using a paintbrush??

82d5f573c2200eb262eb56380eeb0075 Free Last Day of School Printable from Frugal Coupon Living

If you’re into the signs in the pictures of the first and last day of school, then this is for you!  They are adorable, already done for you, you print them at home, and they are FREE!  Awesome.  You should know by now that “free printables” is my jam.

2ea01f75667ddee6bc835bf83b9cd689

(If anyone knows where this pic came from please let me know so I can properly credit them.)

A mom-initiated water balloon fight!  Super fun for when the kids are a little older.  I could not find the original source, but this is really cute and really sets the tone for a super fun summer!

When I started doing the finish line, I actually came up with it on my own.  Then I checked Pinterest and saw that people have been doing it for a long time.  LOL.  You know I really wish I could do all of these things for my kids every year, but I just can’t.  I’m not super mom, I don’t pretend to be.  I have other responsibilities.  Everyday, I try to add a little magic to their day between school, sports, and errands…and I think that is enough.  Anyway, I know you will all make your kids last day of school special in your own way.  If you have something super awesome that you do, let me know!  If you need some more inspo you can check out my Welcome to Summer board for more inspiration.  Or find all my boards and pins here.

Make today special!

XOXO
A

 

Thoughts????

