Summer Dinner Ideas

1 - collage

Hey mamas,

Here in Folsom it’s going to be a HOT one.  When the weather gets close to 100, I really don’t want to turn on my oven.  I rely on the grill and the crockpot or just a cold dinner like a crisp salad.  Today I’ve rounded up my favorite pins from across the web to give you some great inspirations to keep your house cool and your bellies full in summer.

If you are looking for some fun activities to beat the heat with your kids this weekend, check out this post.

You can follow my Culinary Inspiration board for more inspiration.  Or find all my boards and pins here.  Enjoy!

step-11-574x384

Mai Tai Granita from Pretty – Yummy!

First, let’s start out with a refreshing adult beverage to cool down.

01da58546bf83bebfffd5829ffc1ca9b

Beercan Jerk Chicken with Pineapple & Mango Salsa from The Londoner

This looks so delicious and spicy!  I had beer can chicken for the first time over the weekend.  My father-in-law made a great smoked version.  Because I don’t have a smoker, this looks like a good dish to try.  I may have to grill something different for the kids because of the spice level usually associated with jerk seasoning.

Thai chicken skewers marinated with chili, coriander or cilanto, and lime.

Cilantro Chicken Chili Skewers from Cooking Hawaiian Style

I love kabobs and anything skewered.  There;s something about the way the flavors mingle together after spending some time on the grill.  Yum!

d2ff582741a51e3ba99301d5ef4c057c

Summer Pork Chops with Corn-Mango Salsa from recipe.com

Pork chops and mango salsa?  SOme of my favorite things!  This looks delicious!

step-6-574x380

Roasted Red Kale and Farro Salad from         Pretty – Yummy!

This is one of my favorite food blogs.  She has a culinary gift.  The way she describes the steps makes it all seem so easy.  And she has beautiful photos to show you how it should look along the way.  I love farro and kale, this has a must try!

ac98c9657c4d44a0fecaa5f6c8d33fb3

5 Ideas for Grilled Corn from Good Housekeeping

Something about corn screams summer.  Try one of these great ideas for grilled corn instead of boiling it.  They look delicious!  I see a “Corn Toppings Bar” in a BBQ in the future!

a029a8e63bbb095259befcf64fcdbd01

Stuffed Grilled Artichokes from Proud Italian Cook

Artichokes are one of my favorite things.  If they’re on a menu and it’s summer, you better believe I’m ordering that!  These look delicious!

59248d060ceb585a3617ee809bf972fa

Avocado and Grilled Corn Salad with Cilantro Vinaigrette from Authentic Suburban Gourmet

This is the perfect cool side to some of these warm main dishes.  Plus, you could make this ahead and add the avocado at the last minute.  Love that!  Or add to some crisp greens for a light summer lunch.

9d5caa644af80ea7a2d4aedf6273af65

Triple Berry Pie from Cupcakes and Cashmere

This is hands-down my favorite blog.  She is a culinary dynamo, but you’ll notice how stylish she is first.  She has tons of recipes on her site, but this Triple Berry Pie looks like summer.  Those summer berries look so ripe and sweet.  Plus, that’s a graham cracker crust!  I mean, c’mon!  Perfection.

4bd7974151ae930202802c380cccfb9d

Homemade Ice Cream Sandwhiches

So, I tried to track downy he origin of this pin with no avail.  But this is genius!  You could make your own cookies or buy them.  Make these ahead and freeze them.  Great party dessert or great for a special treat any time.

IMG_7134

Marinated Strawberries with a Dollop of Cool Whip from Mama Momtourage

Last night, I remembered the power of dessert.  My kids struggle with eating in less than an hour at dinnertime.  It drives me bonkers!  So I decided to try good, old fashioned bribery.  We don’t really do dessert around here.  It’s not that I’m against it, it’s just that it’s not something we have around on a regular basis.
For this treat, I cut up some strawberries and added a tablespoon of sugar.  I popped than in the frigderator for a few hours.  I pulled them out of the fridge and they sugar and fruit had created a delicious sweet syrup.  I gave them each a taste test, served them dinner, and set the timer for 30 minutes.
Guess what?  They were done and a sing for their Sweet Treat in 22 minutes!

I hope these ideas help with your summer mealtime.  If you have some great recipes you love, send them my way.  I would love to feature them on my blog.

XOXO
A

2 thoughts on “Summer Dinner Ideas

Thoughts????

