Let’s talk make-up

(Sorry mamas, this post is going up a little late because my little lady is on spring break and I’m embracing the spirit of youth by snuggling in bed a little longer with my kiddos.)

collage

Hey mamas!

It’s no big secret that I love make-up.  Today I’m going to walk you through my daily make-up routine.  I only have one brush listed below, it’s my favorite and it’s expensive.  I take good care of it by washing it weekly with a bit of baby soap.  But I use a different brush for each step.  I buy mine from Target, usually Sonia Kashuk but I’ve been buying some by e.l.f. lately too.  They are cheap so I wash them frequently, but I toss them out frequently too.

I’m a pretty fair skinned girl, so the colors listed are for my non-tan months.  I have a dark concealer (thanks to a dear friend) that I blend when I’ve had a spray tan.  In the summer, when I’m getting spray tans more often and I get a little sun-kissed I switch to darker versions of the items listed below.  Also, I have a lot of freckles so I prefer a heavier coverage.  No matter the brand of make-up you use, just make sure to get color matched a few times a year.

This routine may seem like a lot of steps, but all in all it only takes me about 10 minutes, 5 if I’m uninterrupted.  I’m not a make-up artist by any stretch, but I’ve had my make-up done a ton of times, (It’s my favorite thing to do before a big night out.) I read a lot of beauty magazines (Allure is my fave!), and I read beauty blogs daily.  My favorite beauty blogger is Kissable Complexions.  You should totally follow Jade.  She’s gorgeous and gives excellent step-by-steps of different looks.

So here’s what I do for the “everyday look” pictured below.

 

IMG_6542

 

 

skin care Collage

 

 

First, I do my morning Skin Care Regimen.

UVPhysical520x320

EltaMD UV Physical Broad-Spectrum SPF 41 Tinted Facial Sunscreen $25

After that I apply my sunscreen and base color.  The eltaMD UV Clear SPF 46 in my daily skin care regimen is replaced with this tinted version.  It has a slight bit of coverage, but keeps all the protection I need to protect my skin and face a sunny California day.  Plus it makes a great canvas to add powder, bronzer, and blush.

11008843_201403061944

 

I apply it with one of these round sponges.

M02121

MAC Cosmetics Select Cover-Up in NC20 $18

This is an excellent cover-up.  I use it on an “as-needed” basis.  It really covers any blemishes.  Just add it to any imperfections with your finger.  Dab to blend.  A little goes a long way.

MJ2L01

MAC Cosmetics Prep + Prime Highlighter in Radiant Rose $25

This is my must-have.  I rarely leave my home without it on.  It makes me look like I’ve slept a full night no matter what.  I apply it under my eyes with it’s brush in dots.  I dot a half circle under my eye and a few down the middle to the top of my cheekbones.  I use my fingers, lightly, to blend.  It’s a lot of dabbing with my finger.  Do not use your finger to pull on that delicate under eye area.  When it’s all dabbed in, it will look visible lighter than the rest of your face.  That’s what you want.  I promise!

M51021

MAC Cosmetics Studio Fix Powder Plus Foundation Compact in NC20 $27

I follow that with some pressed powder.  I like Studio Fix because it has heavy coverage (if you want) and it stays put throughout the day.  I use this product by building the coverage I am after.  DO NOT USE the sponge that comes with it all over your face.  That’s some serious coverage and, chances are, you don’t need that much coverage.  I do use that sponge and put some on my eyelids.  It’s kinda like a primer.  And I don’t really use eyeshdow for my everyday look so it just evens out the color on my lids.

MEYM

MAC Cosmetics130 Short Duo Fibre Brush $42

I use this brush to apply the powder after I’ve used it’s sponge on my lids.    If you have some sort of problem area, then use the sponge in that area and blend with this stippling-style brush.  This is where I customize the coverage I want.  Use the brush to put one pass of the powder on.  Look Good?  Then move on to the next step.  Not so good?  Add some more.  And so on until you’re happy with the coverage.

Laura_Mercier_Bronzing_PP_Sun_Drenched_SunBronze

Laura Mercier Bronzing Pressed Powder in Sun Bronze $32

Using an angled bronzer brush, and making a “guy-getting-face” aka the kiss face, I apply this in a crescent shape starting at my temples and circling under my cheek bones.  I also put some down either side of my nose and under my jawline.  Use this no matter the season, just be careful if you’re fair skinned and blend blend blend.  We don’t want stripes!

S168726_XLARGE

Chanel Joues Contraste Powder Blush in Rose Initial $45

This is a big splurge for me.  But it was sooooo worth it.  I met the most amazing man, (other than my husband, calm down, this guy is married to another man) named George at the Chanel counter in Macy’s Union Square.  (Brandie talked about him here.)  He tapped this beautiful pink powder on my cheeks with the flair of an artist.  I was smitten.  It was the blush of my dreams.  I can never use anything else now.  This blush has intense color so be careful!  I treat it like Studio Fix above and build it until I like the color.  I use a big fat blush brush, make a big smile, and only out it on the apples of my cheeks.

MNMJ33

MAC Cosmetics Mineralize Skin Finish in Soft and Gentle $30

This stuff is pretty amazing.  I was first introduced to it when I was getting my make-up done for a friend’s wedding five years ago.  It has been a staple ever since.  Use this sparingly or you’ll end up looking like a disco ball.  I use a flat, fluffy, fan shaped brush and apply it in a small crescent shape to the tops of my outer cheek bone around to the outside top of my brows, down the from of my nose, on my cupids bow, and below my eyebrows on my brow bone.

8802078457886

Benefit Cosmetics Gimme Brow in Light/Medium $22

I’m a blonde, I’m wearing my hair a bit darker now, but I have blonde hair on my eyelashes, brows, arms, legs…you get the gist.  Without adding a little dark to my brows they look nonexistent and all that work that goes into getting them the right shape is lost without darkening them up.  This product is a new addition.  I used to use a great brow powder by MAC, but it was discontinued.  I tried this and I’m hooked.  It darkens my brows, keeps them in place, and is super easy to use.  After combing my brows I use the push that comes with the product to get the right amount of color.  I like to focus on the inner ends of my brows and go lighter as they go out and get narrow.

MHXK01

MAC Cosmetics False Lashes Mascara in Extreme Black $21

I am going to do a full post on mascara because I have a serious obsession with the stuff.  I’m not kidding.  In my bathroom right now you will find about eight different tubes of the stuff sitting in a pretty cup on my vanity because they are all in constant rotation.  On a night out, I will apply about three different types.  No joke.  But this particular kind tends to be my go-to.  It helps define without being too clunky.  I curl my lashes then I add this.  First, I put the wand at the base of my lashes in the middle of my eye…so close that it’s almost touching my eye ball.  The goal is to actually get the mascara on the upper lid in-between the lashes.  I, gently, rub the wand from side to side a bit.  Repeat on the other eye.  Then run the wand the length of your lashes.  Then focus on the outer lashes.  Then the ends.  Finally touch the wand to the lower lashes to add just a bit of color.  Then take your finger and rub that little bit of color from side-to-side.  You can totally skip the lower lashes if you like.  I have mainly blonde lashes, so they are invisible without a little color.  It looks a little weird if I don’t put anything on.

gloss Collage

Add any lipgloss from my I’m glossy post and you are good to go!

IMG_6542

This is what I do to get my “everyday look”.  If I’m just running out of the house for something I will wear no make-up or just the tinted SPF.  I believe in having at least one non-make-up day a week.  It’s good to give your pores a break!  I will do another tutorial on my “night out” make-up soon.

XOXO
A

 

Thoughts????

