St. Patrick’s Day Parfait

Hey mamas!

parfait 1

Today I was on Good Day Sacramento (See the whole video here.).  One of the things I talked about was this St. Patrick’s Day Parfait.

Supplies

  • Lucky Charms Cereal
  • Rainbow sprinkles
  • Cool Whip
  • Green Cake

DSC_0596

First, pour your Lucky Charms in to a huge bowl and have your child (or you) separate the cereal from the marshmallows.  Make sure they don’t eat too much!  You don’t need to throw the cereal out.  You can use that instead of Rice Krispies Cereal to make Rice Krispy Treats.

DSC_0598

Meanwhile, make your cake batter.  It’s been proven that I am not a baker.  I come from a long line of fab bakers, my mother chief among them.  My husband’s side of the family has a ton of great bakers too.  His mom and sister are awesome!  So, I’m not going to try to get any better.  I’ll just leave the scratch baking to those far more talented than I.  So I bake from a box.  Prepare your cake to the recipe or box, then add your food dye.  I used a yellow cake so it took more green dye than a white cake would have needed.  I kept adding until I liked the color.  Bake as directed.

When you pull your cake out of the oven, let it cool.  Then cover and place in the freezer.  This will help you cut it into chunks without very many crumbs.  Once it’s been in there for a few hours.  Take it out and cut it into large squares, the cut those pieces down the middle, then into bite-sized squares.

Parfait 2

I wanted this to be like a serve yourself bar.  So I put the cake squares in a bowl and my toppings in a three-section serving dish.  I used little plastic cups for the parfaits.  I added these adorable tinsel twizzlers, mini forks, and cute napkins from Target.

XOXO
A

Here are the other things I covered today: Leprechaun Binoculars, Bell Pepper Shamrock Stamp, Rich Rainbow Wind Sock, and a DIY Candy Necklace.

Thoughts????

