Vintage Shopping

First and foremost: Happy birthday mom!  I love you!  XOXO

Because I know I got my love for the antiques from you, this post is for you.

It’s no secret that I love vintage and antique pieces.  Whenever I show you pictures of my home decor many items start with “vintage” or “antique”.  Today I am sharing some of the places I’ve been visiting to pick up these gems.  I have an “antique-ing” buddy, Kindra, and we go about every other month or so.  Many of these places don’t have FB pages or websites.  But if I could find one, I listed it.  Here are a few of our favorites so far.

Old Fair Oaks

There are tons of places in Old Fair Oaks.  You could make a day of shopping just in this area.  Plus there are a few cafes and you’ll always see the most adorable chickens running all around.  (They have a chicken festival in the fall complete with a chicken parade.  It’s kinda their thing.)

Bungalow Vintage Living – 10139 Fair Oaks Blvd Fair Oaks, CA 95628 (Facebook)

Pricey, but definitely worth browsing.  Super adorable and unique displays.

Bleu (Just next door to Bungalow)

We loved this place!  They had lots of really cute stuff at great prices.

Blue Eagle Antiques – 10201 Fair Oaks Blvd, Fair Oaks, CA 95628

I love this place!  I bought my vintage sled from Christmas here.

IMG_5770

And my “rhinestone Rhino”.  I’m aways buying rhino stiff.  (Rineharts = Rinos)

IMG_5971

57th Street Antique Mall – 875 57th St, Sacramento, CA 95819

This place used to be completely full with tenants, but when we went there last month, there were quit a few empty spots.  On one side of the shopping area, there are little stores and on the other there is a warehouse with a ton of antique dealers.  Here are a few of the things we saw.

DSC_0278

DSC_0268

These arrows were so cool!  They were pretty big and came in some fun colors and cool patinas.

DSC_0273

Kindra thought this vintage case would make an interesting side table.

DSC_0272DSC_0270

They had tons of cool and colorful crates.

DSC_0267

These metal crates were interlocking.  Kindra thought these would make for great shelves and add a cool industrial touch to any room.

IMG_5970

Kindra picked up this wheel barrow at The Ruralist (855 57th St. Sacramento, CA 95819) and bought the vintage edition of Peter Rabbit from the warehouse across the street.

The combination will make for an adorable addition to her Easter and Spring decor.

DSC_0279

There was also this phone.  Hmmm….should we take it home?

The Summer Porch – 3254 J St, Sacramento, CA 95816 (website)

Loved this place!  They had tons of garden stuff and a ton of seasonal items.  I bought that large metal heart for Vday here.

DSC_0473

Shabby Shack – 3655 J St, Sacramento, CA 95816

This is walking distance from the Summer Porch.  It had tons of cute things, but it was really cluttered.  Kindra told me to buy these vintage skates.  I am so glad I did, and they look so cute on top of the toy storage.

DSC_0428

Land Park

Parkside Pharmacy – 4404 Del Rio Rd, Sacramento, CA 95822 (website)

IMG_5768

So this is not an antique shop, but whenever I’m in any kinda proximity to this place I have to stop!  I was just there yesterday.  They have the most adorable stuff.  I love their jewelry (super cheap) and gift items.  Plus they have a ton of adorable home items.  We picked this little book up as a birthday gift from there.  It was scarily accurate.

DSC_0281

Elk Grove

The Red Door Antiques 9056 Elk Grove Blvd, Elk Grove, CA 95624 (website)

Wow, I loved this place.  It’s really the only shop in Elk Grove that we really like.  But it’s totally worth it.  Ridiculously adorable.  My mom went there and picked up a vintage sled for her house at Christmas too.

IMG_5711

I could have bought a thousand items here, but it was the first stop of the day so I walked away with this adorable little dish.  (It’s footed.)

DSC_0436

Old Folsom

There are a ton of vintage and antique places to browse in.  But my favorite is Gracefully Vintage.  Next Antique post I swear I’ll share some of the other places.

Gracefully Vintage – 611 Sutter St, Historic Folsom, CA 95630 (website)

IMG_5756

It’s and adorable shop located just across from Chicago Fire on Sutter Street.

DSC_0431

I bought this super cute metal heart there for Vday.

IMG_5786

I also picked up this cool wooden box with metal top for shelf storage.  It used to hold ammunition.

IMG_5785

This stack of old books without covers all tied up in twine adds fun texture and height to my bookshelves.

When you go antique shopping, you need to be looking for interesting or different pieces.  Try to think out of the box.  Or just bring an out of the box thinker with you like I did.  If an item you are interested in is going to be functional, make sure that nothing is broken or too weathered.  If it’s not functional, just decorative, then it doesn’t matter as long as you like the look of the item, but you could it’s use it’s state of disrepair as a reason to ask for a lower price (although sometimes that’s the reason they are a bit more pricey).  Most places will let you barter on the price, but some are staunch on the marked price.  It never hurts to ask!  Always ask questions about what you are buying or thinking of buying.  Sometimes the history or original purpose adds to the charm and interest.  Allow for plenty of time for your shopping trip.  These places are almost always layered with tons and tons of items, it takes a lot of time to make sure you see everything!  Also, ask the shop owner, or employee about the store and the area.  They can tell you if there are multiple dealers in their space and if they get stuff in pretty regularly on a certain day.  If it’s on a certain day, try to go on that day the next time.  Also ask about other vintage shops in the area.  Small businesses love to help other small businesses.  Another thing to ask about is whether or not they teach classes.  Some of these places teach classes about refinishing furniture.  They are typically inexpensive and you almost always walk about with something.  (Some painting classes let you bring a small item of your own to plain during the class.)  But always, always spread the word about your favorite places.  These are small businesses and could always use the word of mouth advertising to keep them in business.

In that spirit, please tell me if you have a favorite vintage or antique shop you love.  Leave it’s name and location in the comments!

XOXO
A

Thoughts????

