Skin Care Regimen

I love good skin.  I don’t always have it, but I am always in search of it.  Today I’m going to share the products I use and the tips and tricks I’ve heard along my journey to skin perfection.

skin care Collage

FYI – there are a lot of CeraVe products listed below.  There’s a good reason for that and it doesn’t have anything to do with this being a sponsored post (because it’s not).  My hubby sold pharmaceuticals to dermatologists for many many years.  Before he did that I used a lot of very expensive creams and soaps you would find at the beauty counter at Nordy’s.  They were doing anything for my skin.  In fact, many times they were screwing up my skin because I was reacting to some of the more potent or harsh ingredients.  So after he had created relationships with  the docs, I started visiting them a handful of times a year.  They introduced me to these products and I love them because they are easy to purchase, cheap, and very very good to my skin.  You’ll see that I use a few prescriptions, and CereVe plays very nicely with skin that’s being treated.  I have sometimes dry, but mostly normal skin.

Daily AM

Cerave wash

CeraVe Foaming Facial Cleanser $13.59

Wash: I love the squeaky clean feeling and the fact that it is a marriage made in heaven with my clarisonic.  (They also have a hydrating wash that’s fab!)

clarisonic-mia-2-first-impression

Clarisonic Mia 2 $150 or try this less expensive option

Tools: I use this 3-4 times a week.  It tells you how long to wash and in what area.  I have been using this for seven years.  LOVE it!

C_E_Ferulic_full-size

SkinCeuticals C E Ferulic $168

Antioxidant: So so so expensive.  But so so so worth it.  Seriously, it smells not awesome but works so well.  When you go to buy it at the dermatologist, ask if they have any samples.  It never hurts to ask for samples!  This is the most expensive item I use.

elta md

eltaMD UV Clear SPF 46 $25

Protect protect protect.  I love this for an everyday sunscreen.  (Not when you plan to sweat or swim.) It goes under make-up super easily.  Click the link above to find a physician near you to buy it from.

Duac

Duac Gel (Prescription only)

Treat: Because teenagers don’t get to have all the acne fun.  Yep, I get some doozies every now and then.  Pat it on the area and it will help.  I swear.

all about eyes

Clinique All About Eyes Rich 1 oz $50

Eyes: This stuff saved my life.  Well, my under eyes anyway.  It’s super moisturizing and there’s nothing crazy in it.  Plus, it lasts a long time!

latisse

Latisse (Prescription only)

Add ons: You know I love my Latisse!  Warning, it takes 14 weeks to see full results.  At that point you are addicted and can never live without the stuff.

30187248021

 

CeraVe Renewing Lotion $15.99

Moisturize: I only add this if I’m feeling especially dry or if I’m not wearing make-up.  The SPF usually has enough moisture in it for me.  And, if I’m having a lazy day around the house where I don’t want to use the CE Ferulic and the SPF, I just use this and my eye cream.  Also, if I shower in the evening because I’m going out, I only put this on under my make-up primer.

Daily PM

 

Cerave wash

Wash: CeraVe Foaming Facial Cleanser $13.59

cerave pm

CeraVe Moisturizing Lotion PM $13.49

Moisture: I use this every other night.  Super rich and super cheap.

all about eyes

Eyes: Clinique All About Eyes Rich 1 oz $50

veltin

Veltin Retinoid (Prescription only)

Treat: A retinoid is soooooo important.  But only use this during the non-summer months.  It makes you super sun sensitive.  And always, always use an SPF when you are using any kind of retinoid.  I believe that all people (espesh over the age of 25) should use a retinoid.  It improves cell turnover which means younger fresher skin cells which means younger fresher skin.

Eminence-Yam-Pumpkin-Enzyme-Peel

Add ons: Eminence Organics Skin Care Yam and Pumpkin Enzyme Peel

This is my favorite mask.  I love it.  Eminence Organics is a great line.  Yes it is organic, but it is also edible.  Though I wouldn’t recommend that, they do say that they use only the best and harmless ingredients.  They are so gentle and fresh that you can eat them.  I love the way this mask makes my skin look so even.  There are a few other products from this line that I’ve tried and I love them all.  But this one has made it into a permanent spot in my regimen.  I love to buy it at Arden Hills Spa.  They have the full line and their staff is well trained on these products.

Additional tips:

  • Drink a gallon of water with lemon daily.
  • Add green juice into your daily routine.  You can juice at home or buy your own.  Nugget Markets and Whole Foods both have excellent juice bars with great green juice options.  (Killer Green Buzz at Whole Foods is my all time fave.)
  • Wash your face every night.
  • Exercise (or work up a sweat some other way) at least 3-4 times a week.
  • Do not exercise with a full face of make-up.  It’s bad for your skin.  All those pores open up when you sweat and make-up pours into them which can make them appear larger.
  • Go see your dermatologist! Here are two local ones I love: Melanie at Dr. Boudreaux and Dr Hearth.  Get a mole check and ask what a good skin care regimen would be for you and your unique skin and unique skin issues.

What’s your favorite skincare product?

XOXO
A

PS – I am NOT a medical or skincare professional.  These are my personal thoughts and opinions.

Thoughts????

