Thoughts on VDay

2-10-2

Valentine’s Day started because one man, who lived in Rome, decided to marry soldiers that were forbidden to be married.  When he became canonized as a saint they decided to name the day he was buried, February 14th, as St. Valentine’s Day.  Today, VDay is just a way to show your love for your significant other, family, children, crush, and friends.  The big day may not be until Friday, but let’s make this a week all about love.

I’m totally not suggesting you buy your Valentine something from my gift guide, although I would most certainly appreciate it.  I don’t think you need to spend a lot of money to make a big impact.  It’s the little things that really speak loudly.  I’m saying that each day you tell your wife, husband, kids, whoever you want what they mean to you.  Back on February 1st my hubby and I have taken turns putting notes in a little box that hangs on each of our kid’s door handles.  The kids have been loving it!  They are not lengthy notes, just short and sweet.  “I love your creativity.” and “I love your jokes.” are some examples.  They are written on post it notes and we stick them to the door after we read them.  Super fun!  By the time VDay arrives they will have a “heart attack” on each of their doors.

For the hubby and I, we have each been writing sweet notes on the mirror saying what we love about each other.  Short, sweet, and to the point.  It’s been really fun and we both have been looking forward to our special messages.

I know many people feel that VDay is a holiday made in marketing heaven.  I don’t think they’re wrong.  But I don’t think it’s necessarily a bad thing.  Sometimes it’s hard to remember to tell your love, partner, and best friend all the things that you appreciate about them on a daily basis because life just gets in the way.  I think VDay is all about how you celebrate it.  We all need a reminder of why we love and why we are loved.  It’s a beautiful thing.

So go out and spread some love!  Smile at everyone you see, hand out compliments, give hugs.  I’m sure you’ll make everyone’s day!  You never know, that might be the only smile they see or the only hug they get.  Happiness and love is contagious.

XOXO
A

One thought on “Thoughts on VDay

Thoughts????

