Workout Wednesday – A Paleo Recipe and New Gear!


Cam and Ricky a FCCF

 

Remember Cam from last week?  She’s back and this time with some delicious meatballs!

Hi all, I’m back again this week on Mama Momtourage to bring you another great recipe.  These meatballs got their name last year when I was doing the Paleo Challenge with FCCF.  If you are eating strict Paleo you are basically cooking all your meals because when you eat out you can’t be sure that what you are getting is 100% Paleo.  Well that often leaves me in the situation of – dinner is done and put away and now I need to make lunch for the next day.  This is where I introduce you to my Best Friend the crockpot.  Well last year I had an old crockpot that ran really hot.  I prepped these meatballs quickly and stuck them in the crockpot to cook while our heads hit the pillow.  As I was drifting off into dreamland I realized my crockpot didn’t have a timer and it would get way too hot and can scorch the meatballs.  So I had to set my alarm for 3:00am to check on my meatballs and so they got their name “Cam’s 3:00am Meatballs.”

Like I mentioned, these meatballs and sauce are super quick and easy to make.  I serve it over spaghetti squash for me and the hubby but I make whole wheat spaghetti noodles for the kiddos.  They don’t like the idea of spaghetti squash and I know the sauce and meatballs are healthy enough for them.  Both of my boys always ask for seconds when I serve this dish so I would say it get’s the kid stamp of approval.

3am meatballs Collage

Cam’s 3:00am Meatballs

  • 2lbs ground turkey
  • 1/2 c onion, finely chopped (if time is critical, you can use dried onion flakes)
  • 1/4 c almond flour
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tbsps Italian seasoning
  • 1 tbsps basil
  • 1 tbsps garlic, minced
  • 1/2 tsps onion salt (optional)
  • 28 oz. organic tomatoes, crushed (no sugar added – I will use tomatoes purchased at our local farmer’s market and finely chop, for fresh flavor)

20140109_071943

20140109_071819

Mix all ingredients except tomatoes in a large bowl.

20140109_071825

Shape into golf ball sized meatballs. Place in crockpot that has been lightly brushed with olive oil to prevent sticking.

20140109_145619

Pour tomatoes over meatballs. Cook on low for 6 hours (or high for 4).  Or set your alarm for 3am, if you have no timer and your crockpot runs hot.

Cooking the spaghetti Squash

20140109_195241

I like to do it in the microwave.  Put it in a dish that has sides because it will leak water.  Poke holes with a fork so that it can breath and cook.  Depending on the size you might have to cook longer.  I always start with 15mins and add 5 mins until the squash is soft.  Take it out and let it sit for a few minutes or you will burn your fingers when you cut it.  Cut it in half and scoop out the seeds.  Then with a fork just scoop up the squash and place it in the bowl.  Add meatballs and sauce and ENJOY!!

20140109_195435

Those look delicious Cam!  I’m definitely going to try this.  My kiddos love meatballs too.  Thanks so much for sharing with us!  Mamas, Cam will be back next week with more Paleo for us to try!  Love it!

OK, so how is your new year resolution/goal about working out going?  Mine is ok, last week was better than this week, but it’s only half way done…plenty of time to get on track.  Nothing gets me more excited than new workout gear.  So I have compiled a list of things I am currently coveting.

First up is this running belt/band thing.  One of the momtourage, Natalie, introduced me to this.  Check it out.

Flip belt pink

The Flip Belt $28.99

Natalie describes this by saying you can fit everything in it, even your iPhone.  (See the pic above, the belt is actually opaque.  But this pic really illustrated how much you can fit in there!)  She also recommends you buy a little smaller than you may think you need because you want it to fit like spans.  It’s super stretchy.  She brought it to our playdate yesterday and we all thought it was pretty genius.

Here’s what the company has to say:

The FlipBelt is a really simple but revolutionary product to go hands free. Made of machine-washable high tech Spandex-Lycra blend material with a single tubular pocket accessible from multi openings around the belts exterior. The openings lets you easily tuck in your phone, keys, gel packs, credit cards or whatever you may need for your workout. You then flip the belt inside out and everything gets locked in place. Because there are no clasps or buttons, you simply pull the belt on like a pair of pants and wear it wherever it feels most comfortable. It doesn’t move, jiggle, bounce or chafe and you could easily forget it’s even there.
A simple, elegant and fashionable solution to a problem for all active types, gym rats, runners, hikers, bikers, and travelers. Weighing a mere 3 ounces, the FlipBelt is so sleek you can even wear it to go out under your clothes without having to carry a wallet or purse.  Patents Pending

OK, here are six other items I’m totally into:

Gear Collage

1.gear 4

Athleta Stardust Spinnerette Tank $64

2.gear 2

Lululemon Run: Swiftly Tech Racerback *Shortcut $48

3.gear 1

Lululemon Ta Ta Tamer II $58

4.gear 3

Athleta Icy Haze Be Free Knicker $64

5.gear 6

Zella Live In – Ikat Leggings $58

6.gear 5

Zella Live In – Triple Blocked Space Dye Leggings $64

 

OK, now I have to go shopping….oy….

XOXO
A

Thoughts????

