Easy Home Improvement

Hey mamas!

This Tipsy Tuesday is all about your house!  And new year new you.  Maybe meal planning was in your list of resolutions?  Well if it is, I have something to help you reach your goal.  Do you have a pantry?  Does the door look like this?

DSC_0090

This is our pantry door from the outside.

DSC_0091

And here’s the inside!  The top has my grocery list, I take a pic with my phone of the list before I go to the grocery store.  Right below that, on the same panel, is the list of our dinners for the week.  (There are no meals listed here because this pic was taken on Saturday.)  I have the initial of each day listed, every Sunday, my meal planning day, I figure out what’s going on that week using my Cozi calendar.  If my hubby and I will be out one night, if I’m out one night, or if we plan to go out as a family one night I’ll write that in on the day instead of the planned meal.  Then I’ll plan a meal with that info.  This way, I know how many meals I need to plan and what type of meals needed.  In the bottom panel, Lyla has her list of chores and she is supposed to mark them off as she goes.  These are the chores that earn her money throughout the week.  Also, I use chalk pens to make the writing nice and clear.

This was one of the first things we did when we moved into our house a year and a half ago.  I did it myself, it was super easy!

chalkboard paint set Collage

FrogTape $7.87Rust-Oleum Black Chalkboard Paint $9.67Wooster Pro 3-Piece Mini Roller Tray Set $8.35

Here are the things you need to get the job done.   For about $27 you can get it done.  That’s doable, right?

First, I taped off the panels with the frogtape, poured the chalkboard paint into the tray, and used the mini roller to apply it to the panels. You can use any variety or brands of these products, these are just the ones I used.  Chalkboard paint also comes in tons of fun colors now!  A pop of color could be super fun!  You do have to use a synthetic roller (the can of paint says so) and I found the mini size to be more manageable for this small space.

Another thing to know is that you need to read the directions on any can of paint you are using.  Many of them have time limits that tell you to wait no less than 20 minutes and no more than one hour for a second coat, for example.  This info is on there to make sure your finished product is the best the paint has to offer.  This paint said thin coats.  So I had to do a ton of thin coats.  I was dealing with the grain of the wood on the door which meant it took quite a few coats to cover that.

For me this has been super helpful for so many things related to groceries and meal planning.  My hubby and I can both add to the list at any time, it helps me stick to my list at the store, and it helps us budget what we will be spending on groceries that particular week.  If you don’t have a pantry door, try the inside of a cabinet door.  You can do a lower cabinet door for the kids to have their chore chart, or just a place they can express their own creativity!

chalkboard door Collage

Cheers,

XOXO

3 thoughts on “Easy Home Improvement

  1. Love it! I have a chalkboard on the outside of my pantry door, but I’m really into the inside idea, that’s genius!!!

Thoughts????

