Happy Birthday to my sweet Lyla Lou!

5th bday Collage

I can;t believe my little baby is 5 years old!  I’m so proud of her.  She’s the best big sister any little bro could ask for.  She’s sweet, smart, creative, caring , and beautiful.  Just a real love bug!  After her 1st TV appearance yesterday, she and spent some time celebrating her birthday.  Her birthday is actually today, but I thought I would take the opportunity to have some one on one with her. So we did her favorite things.  Let me tell you, there’s no doubt she’s mine!  Her favorite things consisted of: pasta at the Nordstrom’s Cafe, smelling ALL the perfumes in Nordstrom’s, getting all the samples the nice sales ladies would give her, picking out a pair of Twinkle Toes (you guys – I really dislike these shoes.  But it’s really the ONLY thing she asked for…I caved.), riding the carrousel, and eating a cinnamon roll.  She’s never had Cinnabon before.  Clearly she loved it.

IMG_5584

 

This morning I made her some butterfly pancakes with sprinkles and strawberries and blueberries.

IMG_5588

IMG_5592

This is the wreath I talked about yesterday on Good Day Sacramento.  I made it when my son turned one.  It was super easy.  For each birthday, I change out the letter for the birthday person.  It’s made with a straw wreath and regular balloons affixed with greening pins.  It took some time to make, but it was actually easy.  My thumbs were destroyed by the time it was all done, so if you are going to try this, I recommend a thimble.  Just sayin’.
IMG_5590

Birthday banner, my son has a blue one.
IMG_5583

Every night before their birthdays (or Valentines, or halloween, or St. Patrick’s Day, or any other random holiday when I have the right balloons and remember to do it) I put balloons outside their door.  They love love love it.  It stays up for a few days or for however long I can stand it.  (It gets really annoying to bring laundry into a room when  you have to pass through a balloon curtain.)  It really rocks their world!  My two year old runs back and forth and back and forth giggling like an adorable little maniac.

XOXO
A

Thoughts????

