Mama Momoturage on Folsomette’s Girls Night Out

Hey mamas!

I am so excited to have been on Good Day Sacramento again today!  As soon as the video is loaded in their site I’ll load it here too.

A few months back I was featured on my friend’s blog Folsomette.  You should totally follow her blog.  She’s super stylish and always in the know.  Anyway, since I received many new readers and more likes on Facebook (THANKS!  YOU ALL ROCK!  NEW READERS AND OLD READERS!  LOVE YOU!), I thought it would be great to tell you a little more about myself.  I promise I’ll be back next week with another “Five for Friday” featuring a fabulous mom!  Also, later today I’ll go over the tips I spoke about on the show today in a little more detail!

Here’s the post from Folsomette featuring me in the super fun Girl’s Night Out series:

SMP_6779-(ZF-3245-66766-1-001)

SMP_6602-(ZF-3245-66766-1-002)

If we were to go out on the town with Mama Momtourage Blogger, Amanda, she’d ask us to meet her at Back Wine Bar in Folsom. She’d greet us with a glass of Melange in her hand and would assure us that the cheese plate had been ordered.

We’d compliment her on the abundance of jewels on her wrist and would ask her how the heck she walks in those dangerously high heels! She’d laugh knowing that she loves a good arm party and realizes that she’s seriously teetering on the tallest, most fierce shoes ever.

Then, we’d sit down at our table and would ask her all the questions that us girls are dying to know!

Who is Amanda?

Hey everyone! I’m wife and a stay-at-home mom (SAHM) to two adorable little angels, Lyla (4 ¾) and Brady (2). I was an event planner in a former life, it’s still in my blood! I cant help it, I never turn down the opportunity to plan an event.

holiday button

These days I’m funneling my creative juices into my blog Mama Momtourage here and of course into some super fun activities for the kiddos. My personal mantra as a SAHM is, “I’m a memory maker, damnit!” I am constantly striving to make each day the best day ever like it’s my job, because it is and I wouldn’t have it any other way!

What’s your beauty secret?

Latisse! Love love love Latisse. Life changer! I’ve been using it for almost two years and I can’t imagine my life without it. Seriously, that stuff is liquid gold.

Blue eye

You asked for one, but I’m giving you another because I’m a giver…well actually an over sharer. So the other thing I’m wild about is any form of a retinoid. I don’t use it in the summer because it makes skin so sensitive to the sun. But, it’s fall and I’m back baby!

There are several prescription and cosmetic products available containing tretinoin/retinoic acid. For me, it’s less about acne (although some days it’s all about acne, am I right???) and more about cell turnover. By promoting new skin cell production and sloughing off old skin cells your skin will look healthier than ever. It also reduces photoaging of your skin (the impact of the many years out in the sun). Contact a dermatologist to inquire about a similar regimen. After all, they are the experts.

What’s your favorite product in your make-up bag?

ClinqueChubby

My Clinique Chubby Sticks. I am obsessed with these lip color balms! I have “Two Ton Tomato” the most perfect red and “Pudgy Peony” a super fun pink. They feel so good on and the color really lasts. It seriously feels the way it does when I have Aquaphor (BTW – one good thing to come out of butt rashes is the discovery of Aquaphor as a lip balm.) on my lips. The small size of these babies fits perfectly into your evening clutch or your diaper bag. They sell them at Ulta in Folsom, so it’s really convenient that you don’t even have to leave town to pick one up.

I just read in a magazine that purple hued lips are hot for fall. So I’m going to run to Ulta to pick up a new chubby stick to add to my collection in “Voluptuous Violet”. It’s worth a try…

Where’s your favorite place to shop in Folsom?

Palladio

Palladio. They have something for everyone! I love Rod Works, Gymboree, and Button Up. Plus, H&M is always a great place to pick up a cheap thrill or see some designer collaborations. I never leave there empty handed.

What item in your closet do you wear the most? AND, what’s your favorite item in your closet?

ExpressBoyfriend

I wear my jean capris from Express the most. Best. Purchase. Ever. They are a part of my “mom uniform”. I plan to wear them with boots and ballet flats this fall. They just fit so great.

Forever21

This tuxedo jacket is my fave. It just looks like a good time, right??? It’s from Forever 21 (Can you believe it??) last spring.

What 3 things would we find in your purse right now?

1) The biggest snack bag in America. Seriously, there is something for all palates in there!

2) A bottle of water and pack of Trek Mix nuts from Trader Joe’s.  Fills you up in between meals without extra calories and anything fake.  They are delicious, plus they are in individual serving packages.  Easy and healthy fast food to go!  Food is fuel! And, wine is therapy…but I rarely carry wine in my purse.

3) A small notebook. I know, I know the trees! Ahhh! But I just love actual paper. Yes, I have an iPhone and yes there is the note app. I jot down notes all the time when I’m out and about.

What do you do for fun?

I’m at a park like 2-3 times a week with the kids.  Other than that I’m always running on the trails in The Parkway.  For fun with the hubby it’s usually dinner or a movie or a local event.  Fun with girlfriends is shopping, local events, drink or dinners.

What’s one thing that people would be surprised to find out about you?

In the spirit of over sharing, here’s a list from some close friends:

  • I’ve done more than 500 weddings as an event planner
  • I’ve competed in the Ms California Pageant as Ms Sacramento County (OMG, we need to see a photo!)
  • I tent camp at least once a year
  • I can catch crawdads with my bare hands
  • I take boxing lessons

What happened today (big or small) that made you smile?

My hubby let me sleep in a bit. Super awesome! And of course playing hide and seek with my kids at the park. My 5 year old is getting to be a super duper hider.

What advice would you give your 13 year-old self?

Ignore the mean girls! They’re just trying to figure themselves out too and taking it out on you in the process. It’s not you, it’s them. Oh, and you’ll hear that phrase a few more times in your life.

And DO NOT get that perm, you know the one where you perm your bangs too. Yikes! It’s a bad look girl!

What’s your motto, favorite quote or song lyric?

I’m a memory maker dammit! And this is going to be the best day ever! Are what I find myself saying the most. But I wish it was something like, “The things you take for granted someone else is praying for.” I saw this on Pinterest. You can follow me on Pinterest hereI am a very thankful and grateful person. So is my hubby. He says, “What you think about and thank about you bring about”. That’s basically our family’s motto.

What motivates or inspires you?

My kids and my hubby. The way they look at me is so motivating. It’s amazing to see such unbridaled love and admiration in their eyes. I feel so much responsibility to be the best person I can be so these little humans can try to be the best they can be too.

Thanks again Aimee with  Folsomette for featuring me!

XOXO
A

Thoughts????

