Inspiring Monday

11-24 tgivs

I’ve been married for 8 years and have lived many places other than my parent’s house.  But, if you hit “home” on my phone, you’d call my parents.  That’s the truth.  Following the logic above I feel like I have a few homes: friends houses, my in-laws house, my own house, and my parents house.  That truly makes me blessed.  I try to remember that daily, how lucky I am to have people that I can call in my time of need or just because I want to talk.  I try not to take that for granted.  Some days it’s easier than others.

But there is a flip side to this, we all need to be that feeling of home for our friends and family too. Many of you will be hosting TGivs this year.  I’m sure you are trying to plan all the details – the food, the decor, and the sheer logistics of sleeping arrangements.  While you’re figuring all that out, don’t forget to try to make them feel at home in your house, little things will go a long way.  Let them know how happy you are that they are here.  Tell them your schedule in advance and let them know that they are welcome to join you or they can do their own thing.  A good guest will know when it’s ok to sit something out and when they should lend a hand.

I think this week is truly the beginning of the real holiday season.  I can’t wait for all the gatherings, the festivities, and really the “pomp and circumstance” of the season.  There are holiday home tours, carolers just because, and Santa sleigh rides to be had all over town.

starlight starbright

Let’s talk pictures with Santa for a moment.  SKIP THE MALL!  Don’t wait in a long line.  Your kids will not be happy and you will all end up Scrooges.  I always take out pictures with Santa at Starlight Starbright in old Folsom.  Call to make a reservation (916) 983-9977.  It’s fast and easy.  Plus, if your kid is afraid of Santa, they have ways of sneaking Santa into the picture.  I swear, I know from experience.  It’s a little more expensive than the mall santa, but it worth it.  They have a fast turnaround time and a professional photographer, K. Walker.

XOXO
A

Thoughts????

