Try It Tuesday

 

IMG_5385

Let’s talk dinner…again.  You and I, we’ve talked about this a few times before.  But it’s a constant struggle, right?  You’re bored with your go-to meals, your family is bored with your go-to meals, and no one is offering you any suggestions to help.  You’re not alone.  We’re all right there with you.  Today I’m offering you my go-to “busy-weeknight” meal.  Or my “I’m-to-lazy-to-actually-cook” meal.  It’s of the semi-homemade variety and packed with protein and veggies.  It’s so easy peasy.  I’m hoping, in exchange, you’ll email me with your go-tos.  Please, pretty please???  (mamamomtourage {at} gmail {dot} com)  I need some help too!

Today, we are making Tortellini with a Meaty Marinara.  Remember the marinara we made the week before last in this post?  Well, I still have a few jars left in my freezer.  If you know you are going to have a hectic day one or more days in advance, remove the sauce, tortellini, and meat from your freezer and let it defrost in the fridge for a day or two.  If your short on time, have no fear.  You can pop the meat in the microwave to defrost and the jar of sauce can go into a pot of boiling water for a few minutes.

IMG_5575

Here’s what I need today: Chicken tortellini, home-made sauce, and ground turkey.  I actually prefer ground beef with this, but any meat will do as long as it is ground.  After everything is thawed, Start a large pot of water with a little salt to boil for your pasta.  Next, put a large sauce pan over medium heat and add about a tablespoon of olive oil or vegetable oil or coconut oil or whatever you prefer.  Then add your meat and let it get nice and brown.  At this point I like to add salt, pepper, and italian seasoning, but that’s totally optional.

When you’re happy with the doneness on your meat, remove as much of the cooking fat as possible.  (I like to do it with one of those squeezie things, but a good tip is to put the contents of your pan into a sieve or a strainer with small holes.)  Then add your jar of sauce to the drained meat, mix it all together, and bring it to a boil.  At this point your pasta water should be boiling, go ahead and drop your pasta, but pay attention to the cooking times.  I remove my pasta one minute before the package says (because it will continue to cook with the sauce).

I’m using the large sized (just over one pound) Buitoni brand because it’s tried and true with my family.  I also chose the chicken variety because I have to be careful with the amount of dairy I serve in my household.  I’ve done this recipe with the Three Cheese variety and it was fabulous.  Just do what works for you.

One your sauce and meat mixture is boiling, turn it to low and cover. But taste it, do you still love the flavor?  Does it need something?  If yes, add it.  When your pasta is done drain the water but reserve about a half a cup of the starchy pasta water.  Add all the cooked pasta and the reserved water to your sauce and meat mixture.  Let that get acquainted for about five minutes or so.  This is the time to throw a salad together or call the family to dinner.

IMG_5385

Buon Appetito!

Looks pretty delicious right.  My family gobbles it down every time!  My two year old can use a fork most of the time, but this is a perfect finger food for those too little for a fork.  And there are usually a ton of leftovers.  Love that!  I hope you enjoy it as well!

XOXO

A

Thoughts????

