Want that Wednesday!

Happy Wednesday mamas!
I’m taking a break from my Wedding Wednesdays to tell you about something seriously fantastic!  All in the name of research for you, dear readers, I brunched and shopped my Sunday away.  It was hard, but someone had to do it…
First, let me tell you that Sunday is not the day to do this trip because many of these small boutiques are closed.  But we didn’t let that stop us!!  Also, I chose to shop in the area where I grew up.  I lived in Sacramento from age 5 until I went to college.  My amazing parents still live in our charming house in South Land Park.  It was a fantastic place to grow up.  Every time I drive in those neighborhoods I can’t help but feel nostalgic.  I spent a lot of time in Land Park because that’s where I went to elementary school, played baseball, soccer, and where most of my friends lived.  I love that area so much that I chose to get married at Holy Spirit Parish Church and have our kids baptized there.  There’s something magical about driving down Land Park Drive in the fall.  The trees create a canopy over the street and on this particular day there was a pronounced fall breeze.  And, boy, were those enormous leaves dropping and drifting in the breeze!  Loved it.
shop local Collage
We started our day with  brunch at Tower Cafe.
EggsTower-June
I had the Eggs Benedict with house potatoes…uh-mazing!  Perfect hollandaise and the potatoes were extra crispy and fantastic!
FrenchToast at tower10-Mex-Scramble
My friends had the french toast and Mexican scramble.
They kept saying, “It’ll change your life!”  So I assume it was as delicious as mine.  Add a few mimosas and we were loving life!  You do need to plan to get there early because there’s always a long wait.  On this particular day our wait was about 45 minutes.  But the time flew with good conversation.  Another good brunch option in this area is Riverside Clubhouse.  It’s in the same family of restaurants as Bistro 33.  Very delicious option!
horse Collage
Our first stop was a boutique I’ve never been to before, Heart Clothing Boutique.  It didn’t open for a few minutes so we popped into the shop next door, Ladybuggz.  My friends had fun with this horse sweater…..
IMG_5273
However, I did like these shorts and this lovely sweater.  I thought they would look cute with some black opaque tights and flat booties….
IMG_5339
And I’m sorta wishing I would have bought this with the cold snap we’re having….
The shop was pretty cute and the owner said she was celebrating her 2nd year in business that same day.  Congrats to them!
IMG_5275 IMG_5274
We went next door and into Heart.  We really loved it and I didn’t take a single photo in the shop…only outside….sorry. But there were a bunch of cute jackets, sweaters, and jewels.  There were also a some leggings with cats on them that made us laugh.
IMG_5276
Then we headed to Sugar Shack.  This is the sister shop to Krazy Mary’s.
They had this stunning jewelry display.  They always have fabulous and unique jewelry.
IMG_5277
I was seriously wishing I had somewhere to wear this to.
IMG_5279
 We all loved this top.  It was so soft!!
IMG_5387
You know, I’ve been wanting a black jumpsuit for a few months.  After I had tried some stuff on I saw this and was too lazy to take off my clothes to try it on, there’s a sweater, a belt, and jeans under there.  Now feels like a good time to tell you guys that I have a long torso…can you tell??
At least I figured out this style might not be for me…..
IMG_5280
We also loved this sign.  I hate thieves too Biebs…
IMG_5389
This is what I came home with…Love this!!!!!!!  Super soft and lightweight.  The perfect layering piece!
IMG_5290
Then we walked two blocks to Cuffs Boutique.  This boutique was really awesome.  They had vintage and new.
IMG_5284
Shopping is tough, man.  After taking off and putting your clothes back on, sometimes you just take short cuts.  I put things over my whole outfit, others just pulled their pants down.  Natalie felt really comfortable here…..
IMG_5286IMG_5282IMG_5283
They had some really fun stuff!
Loved the vintage jacket and the hat.  I took that hat home in a charcoal color.  This tank was too funny!  And I loved this dress.
Again, wish I had somewhere to wear it to.
IMG_5341
Meanwhile, I was feeling very fabulous in this ensemble.  I would have taken this home with me, but it was too large in the waist.  It was on sale and the only one.  Bummer…  Can you see the fur arms and that perfect cognac color???  Love…
IMG_5390
That fab hat from Cuffs Boutique resides on this lovely in my room until I figure out exactly how to wear it…any tips????  I’ve been looking for a winter hat and I love the fit and color.  But I just figured out how to wear a fedora…I’m remedial when it comes to headwear, what can I say?  You know how to negotiate the hair and outerwear to compliment the overall look???
IMG_5297IMG_5293
The we loaded up and went to Krazy Mary’s.  I have been shopping here since she first opened her doors when I was in college in 2000.  She always carries a great selection at multiple price points.  Mary and all the ladies that work there are very nice and not pushy, just laid back.  They have a fantastic selection of cozy sweaters.  You know, perfect for sitting around your house and burning a pumpkin candle while watching the fall weather.  At least that’s how I talked someone into a sweater purchase.  Us stay-at-home-moms, that all we do…sit around in sweaters.
LOL, yeah right!
 Krazy 2 Krazy Mary
She has always been a strong advocate for locally made stuff too.  They have some locally made belts and carry locally made jewelry.  I didn’t take enough pics inside, but here are some from Facebook page.
IMG_5292 IMG_5291
More of the jewels I love at this shop.
Toms
I’m definitely going to go back for these.  Just to feed into my current bootie obsession.  But I tried them on and they feel like a dream.  They give me a little lift, but nothing too crazy.  You know, I can still wear them to the park without falling over.
MB 1
Then we went to Madam Butterfly.  This boutique has some really adorable stuff!  But my long torso totally sabotaged me again!  Before I went there, I was pretty sure I was going to come home with this vest.  Then I tried it on…no dice.  So sad…
MB 3
But they had plenty of other drool-worthy items.  They shop is stocked with the most stylish clothes, accessories, candles, under garments, and some shoes too!  Plus, the MB Shop girls are super nice and helpful!
One of my girlfriends was really into this necklace, except in the “Blessed” version.
MB 4
Apparently, I learned that I have a long torso and a love for all things Toms.  Because I just may go back for these sunnies.  They are very far from what I typically wear now (oversized black Rayban Wayfarers).
IMG_5299MB 2
Maybe because I was getting a little tired, but at this point all I real wanted to buy was sweats….In my defense both of these options are made of a super dreamy-soft material.  And I love the “Let’s live in a hotel” saying.  Some days, that’s all a girl wants.  An Ambien and a hotel room all to yourself….
MB sale
Now would definitely be a great time to go back because they are having a sale!
IMG_5301
By this time we really needed some nourishment so we headed to Luna Lounge.
We had a great day and each came home with a little something in a bag, inspiration, and a cleansed sole from a day of laughs with girlfriends.  Below is a list of the places we went.  Check them out and like their Facebook pages for up-to-date info and pics of their latest stock!  Here’s the route we took, it starts in Land Park and finishes it the Fair Oaks area.
  • Tower Cafe 1518 Broadway Sacramento, CA (916) 441-0222 website, FB page
  • Ladybuggz Boutique  1903-B Capitol Ave. Sacramento, CA 95814 (916) 498-8393 website, FB page
  • Heart Clothing Boutique  1903 Capitol Ave. Sacramento, CA 95814 (916) 441-1359 website, FB page
  • Krazy Mary’s 3230 Folsom Blvd, Sacramento, CA 95816 (916) 442-6279 FB page
  • Sugar Shack 2425 J St, Sacramento, CA 95816 (916) 447-4435 FB page
  • Madam Butterfly 500 Pavilions Ln, Sacramento, CA 95825 (916) 920-1220 website, FB page
  • Luna Lounge 5026 Fair Oaks Blvd. Carmichael, CA 95608 (916) 485-2883 website, FB page  Here were the other two shops that were on our list but closed on Sunday:
  • Parkside Pharmacy 4404 Del Rio Rd, Sacramento, CA 95822 (916) 452-2200 website, FB page  They have some fantastic accessories and home decor.  Definitely a must visit!
  • Violet Muse 2600 Fair Oaks Blvd, Sacramento, CA 95864 (916) 481-6873 website, FB page  Adorable and affordable women’s clothing and accessories.  Stop in if you get the chance!
We weren’t able to make it to these places, but they are definitely worth a trip!  Maybe I need to plan a round two….
  • Puddles – A Children’s Shoppe 2580 Fair Oaks Blvd, Ste. 4, Sacramento, CA 95825 916.481.KIDS (5437) website, FB page
  • Koukla Kids 3809 J St, Sacramento, CA 95816 (916) 254-5437 website, FB page
  • Bungalow 10139 Fair Oaks Blvd Fair Oaks, CA 95628 916-967-7000 website, FB page
  • It’s a small world 502 Pavilions Ln, Sacramento, CA 95825 (916) 922-1899 website
  • Trumpette 2020 I St, Sacramento, CA 95811 (916) 851-0000 website, FB page
Have a great day!
XOXO
A

4 thoughts on “Want that Wednesday!

  1. Holy Pink and Black jeweled dress from Cuffs!!! Where were you a few weeks ago when I was looking for a dress to wear to a wedding. Dang! And the Tom wedges are so fun! Amanda, you so need those in leopard. I have them in the sand color and they are super comfy! Glad you girls enjoyed your day! So fun.

Thoughts????

